• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[Verizon] my phone won't boot in recovery after rooting

bbalcrazy92

Lurker
Sep 19, 2012
hey guys!
i'm a newbie at this stuff but i had a huge interest in rooting my phone. i successfully rooted my galaxy nexus using this guide
How To Root Verizon Galaxy Nexus SCH-I515–Quick Guide

i was looking up guides for changing roms and i came across one that stated to have cwm installed in the phone. i thought i had that installed already, when i check the data in my phone on my computer i see i have some cwm file in the root. however when i try to boot into recovery mode just to make sure, i just get an android lying down with a red yield sign over his stomach.

any ideas guys?
thanks! :)

I used to get the Android lying down with a red exclamation triangle over his open panel when I would use the stock recovery (I still do if I flash back to it).

If you're already rooted, an easy way to flash a custom recovery is with this app from Scary Alien (and he's a forum member so you could probably ask him if you have any questions about his app). I used it to flash CWM Touch recovery (whatever the highest number was). Make sure you also use the option to make the recovery stick.

You can also boot into recovery from the app so you don't have to worry about making sure you were pressing the power and volume up/down buttons at the same time.

Upvote 0
I used to get the Android lying down with a red exclamation triangle over his open panel when I would use the stock recovery (I still do if I flash back to it).

If you're already rooted, an easy way to flash a custom recovery is with this app from Scary Alien (and he's a forum member so you could probably ask him if you have any questions about his app). I used it to flash CWM Touch recovery (whatever the highest number was). Make sure you also use the option to make the recovery stick.