1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Verizon] Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidKris, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53
    Is Titanium Backup able to backup my SMS/MMS?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,515
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    I read a post that says it can, but I don't see the option.
    Go SMS can backup threads, so can SMS backup.
     
  3. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    tb does not backup sms and mms there are apps for that i believe backup everything is one of them i use backup to gmail because it backs up call log and sms
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I believe [SMS/MMS/APN] Dialer Storage is the restore option for sms/mms on a stock phone or a stockish rom. However it's system data so as with any such item, be careful restoring and I don't know that I'd be too apt to do this on many custom roms anyway.

    For example, on BAMF, it's listed as:
    [SMS/MMS/APN] Phone/Mesaging Storage 4.0.3-eng.chaos.xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    So I think that may not play well when restoring across other roms. I don't care about saving sms/mms anyway, but if I were, I think I'd use an alternate method. Cloud service or similar.
     
  5. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    jbdan and iowabowtech like this.
  6. jbdan

    jbdan Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    That is what I use and its excellent. It backs them up to folders created in your gmail. So you can delete and organize easily as often or little as you need to. You can also set it to auto backup on your own schedule.
     
  7. gapi

    gapi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    SMS to Text Pro version is my ticket. I back up my messages via HTML for easy viewing on the PC and can export them via email.

    To back them up per-say, so I can restore them I export them to a file or email them as .txt. Then can import them back in.
     
  8. abezzilla99

    abezzilla99 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    100
    14
    38
    Just wondering if it is possible to have tibu batch backup only apps+data that are not system or market apps. I'm asking in here so I don't have to start a whole new thread and it seems on topic enough lol. :)
     
  9. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
  10. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53

    I'm wondering if this will work with custom roms. My SMS storage is titled differently than stock, because I'm object liquid and the SMS application is customized for the rom. I imagine that it would work when simply updating the Roman, but switching roms...I imagine that would cause a problem. What do you guys think?
     
  11. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
    You can just restore data and not the apk. That is what I do. I am not sure. I know restoring the app will cause problems for sure. Not sure on just data.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...