1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [Virgin Mobile] Kernel issues, ROM issues, etc....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xthedakmanx, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Herp derp, I figured out what was going on >_< neeevermind lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. youngSWi

    youngSWi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    241
    16
    38
    I was just looking at this phone today, I think since you got it I will too! Lol. Is yours 4g lte?

    Sent from my HTCEVOV4G using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  3. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    119
    7
    56
    Oh no. Unfortunately, I don't do ROMS that I know will give me problems. I don't have warranty. Or maybe I do? I don't know. Good thing you had it.

    @youngSWi I think most US S3s have 4G LTE including Virgin Mobile.
     
  4. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Yush ^_^ All the Virgin Mobile ones are LTE

    You have a 30 day or something warranty when you get the phone >.< Sucks I have to wait a few more days, but oh well lol
     
  5. ENVi3

    ENVi3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    281
    49
    43
    Male
    Kansas City
    I think you have a year of warranty, but it's probably really limited.
    I had my Evo 3D for months before I realized my voicemail didn't work and after trying everything the only solution Virgin had was to reactive my account with a new phone, and they were willing to swap my Evo for another because of the 1 year warranty.
     
  6. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Unless you purchase additional protection the stock 1 year manufacturer warranty covers manufacturing defects, not user error. :rolleyes:
    OB
     
    jhawkkw and scary alien like this.
  7. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Meh...I've done that with them for years and they haven't said a single thing about it :p
    I just say it wont turn on, buttons don't work, etc etc, and they send me a replacement with no hassle :p
     
  8. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    I think Virgin Mobile has a one year factory warranty where if you call them they'll send you a phone (but I think it's refurbished) just tell them it shut off and it won't turn back on I don't think they can check root
     
  9. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Please don't discuss receiving a phone that you borked and then lying to get a replacement. One word: Fraud! :rolleyes:
    OB
     
    jhawkkw, scary alien and Unforgiven like this.
  10. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Its not fraud it's a factory warranty and I didn't root my intercept or triumph so I didn't violate anything :)
     
  11. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Happened for the second time T_T
    Now I'm out of a phone for a week...

    fantastic...


    DO NOT FLASH ANY, AND I MEAN ANY KERNEL IN RECOVERY RIGHT NOW
     
  12. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    U
    Your original post , before editing, stated that YOU bricked your phones before asking for a warranty replacement. The manufacturer 1 year warranty does not cover anything else but manufacturing defects. Not user caused problems, it's called taking one for the team. Let's not turn this into a semantical debate.
    OB
     
  13. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    If the kernel is made for the sprint variant it should be flashing to the right partition.... "block 7"

    At&t, T-mobile & Verizon variant kernels may be flashing it to the wrong block (e.g. block 5)

    /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 = aboot (this is part of our boot loader partitons, if you try to write a kernel to mmcblk0p5 it will definitely brick your phone...)

    Check Here for mount point and partition name reference.
     
  14. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    uh i dont really see the point of this thread, its filled with misinformation. you are/were trying to use flash_image, thats for MTD devices (think pre-gingerbread when ext4 became the norm). you were flashing to a partition that isnt the boot kernel partition (all the sgs3's share the exact same partition layouts). and you dont flash zImage's you flash boot.img, flashing a zImage only is bound to be a bad idea
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  15. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    WELLLLLLLLL....Some install scripts actually do just install the zkernel. They extract the boot.img, put it the file in, and repack it right there. I do it on a few of my roms, as it's kinda the easiest way to keep things updated (Same script I posted in the OP), and it's perfectly fine on most phones to do so.


    What I (finally) figured out what was happening was that somehow I kept downloading files for the wrong variant of the GS3, (DERP) and it was writing to 05 instead of the 07 one.....Although, it still doesn't really explain why it would just full on brick it, but meh.
     
  16. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    yes, and those use koush's anykernel, teh updater script you posted did not have that.
     
  17. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    The thread seems to have run his course. Also, we don't condone warranty fraud. By modifying the software, you take full responsibility for your actions. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to send a pm my way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...