1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] Rooting the F3 with Motochopper

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mavsman13, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. addie0134

    addie0134 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013

    Oct 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Ok after trying very hard last night to get this to work I shut down the computer and tried again in the morning. It was successful .... sort of .... I got superuser downloaded from the motochopper, however it still doesn't seem to let me move any applications to the sd card! The little button that is supposed to pop up on the info of the apps I can and want to move isn't there. Please help
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,807
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,807
    1,394
    443
    NYC
  3. addie0134

    addie0134 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013

    Oct 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you I love you foxy!!!:eek:
     
  4. adam97202

    adam97202 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    179
    39
    43
    Portland, OR
    I just rooted my Optimus F3 using Motochopper on my Mac. The initial "see if it will work with this device" step went smoothly:
    HTML:
    1. > sudo ./adb.osx devices
    2. Password:
    3. * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    4. * daemon started successfully *
    5. List of devices attached
    6. LG-LS720-30da336        device
    Then, when I tried to do the actual rooting, I got this...
    HTML:
    1. > sudo ./run.sh
    2. (*)
    3. (*) Motochopper: Android root exploit (Linux/OS X version)
    4. (*) v1.0
    5. (*) by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)
    6. (*)
    7. (*) Tested on the Motorola Razr HD, Razr M, Razr Maxx HD, and Atrix HD.
    8. (*) Supports lots of other devices as well. ;-)
    9. (*)
    10. (*) Before continuing, ensure that USB debugging is enabled and that
    11. (*) your phone is connected via USB.
    12. (*)
    13. (*) WARNING: This will likely void the warranty on your device. I am
    14. (*) not responsible for any damage to your phone as a result using this
    15. (*) tool.
    16. (*)
    17. (*) Press enter to root your phone...
    18. (*)
    19. (*) Waiting for device...
    20. * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    21. * daemon started successfully *
    But I waited a few minutes, and nothing happened. So I hit Control-C (which is "cancel" in Unix/Linux/OSX-land), and then this happened:
    HTML:
    1. error: protocol fault (no status)
    2. (*) Device found.
    3. (*) Pushing exploit...
    4. * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    5. * daemon started successfully *
    6. 3246 KB/s (1283460 bytes in 0.386s)
    7. (*) Pushing root tools...
    8. 4912 KB/s (366952 bytes in 0.072s)
    9. 3431 KB/s (1867568 bytes in 0.531s)
    10. 2855 KB/s (1578585 bytes in 0.539s)
    11.         pkg: /data/local/tmp/Superuser.apk
    12. Success
    13. (*) Rooting phone...
    14. (+) This may take a few minutes.
    15. (+) Success!
    16. (*) Cleaning up...
    17. (*) Exploit complete. Press enter to reboot and exit.
    ...and now I'm rooted!

    (For the record, I did NOT need to download any drivers; motochopper.zip contained everything that was needed.)
     
    jjfad likes this.
  5. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    Thanks Guys! That was way to easy. It did it on the first try, no drivers needed etc. Took a whopping 2 min including download time of the tool.

    Any idea if there is DEV going on for this phone yet?
     
  6. bkdg100

    bkdg100 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012

    Sep 16, 2012
    25
    3
    16
    just got lg f3 in hand , but in looking around for motochopper zip , i found 2 versions , both are near identical ..
    but superuser apk is 1.5mb in one and 900k in another .. any ideas ? dates are identical for both in zip ..
     
  7. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,807
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,807
    1,394
    443
    NYC
    Just checked, in the version I used to successfully root my F3 superuser is 1.5M.
     
  8. elisa9047

    elisa9047 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    24
    2
    16
    Is there anyway to root the F3 without a computer, just on the phone? Possibly like a one click method?
     
  9. jetfactor

    jetfactor Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    96
    7
    16
    still no reliable custom recovery? i want to root so i can free up some damn app space on here, but i'm hesitant without being able to make a backup.
     
  10. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    2nd init is reliable, so is the cwm built by PG. I haven't had an issue with either
     
  11. isilent

    isilent Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    9
    1
    6
    does anyone know if i can root it before activating? or should i activate it first then root?
     
  12. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    We have an unbrick method anyways so if you're worried about bricking then don't. :)
     
  13. syrkles

    syrkles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    84
    12
    18
    i rooted my f3 with cydia impactor on linux
     
  14. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Wtf xD never heard of that lol
     
  15. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    just got this phone for 69 bucks at radio shack rooted it within 30 minutes of having it home. Found the drivers on the lg website and first try motochopper did the trick.
     
  16. cqc005

    cqc005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    What do i need to install???/?/?
     
  17. Permodius

    Permodius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013

    Oct 15, 2013
    28
    8
    16
    This topic goes into detail on how to root:
    Edit: I guess I'm not allowed to post links yet, but the topic is in this same exact board and is called "Root and CWM - EASY how-to guide for noobs"

    You only have to follow it up to step 6 unless you want to add the recovery too.
     
  18. jtack

    jtack Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014

    Jan 9, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Hello,

    For some reason I am not able to find the location for motochopper. Does this not exist any longer? I just got my phone and would like to root.

    Also, rooting will not effect bluetooth connectivity.
     
  19. blestou

    blestou Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    After the firmware update, I was unable to use motochopper. I got recent drivers from LG site, then used Kingo one-click root (kingoapp dot com). Worked on first try.
     
  20. j1232

    j1232 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    66
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    121
    7
    66
    Male
    Deli Cook
    Astoria, NY
    Sooo I did this back in the day and it worked fine. . . Just got the phone today and I can see to get it working . . . Linux or Windows Side . . .
    Can someone help me here????

    I factory Reset twice now . . and instantly cut off the data to prevent updates. . . I GET FAILURE



    10 minutes later I tried what the dude above said and it WORKED!!


    KingOApp worked !
     
  21. Exbruce

    Exbruce Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012

    Dec 22, 2012
    78
    2
    16
    What driver did everyone install to get it to work?
     
  22. ASHMO9119

    ASHMO9119 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014

    Sep 6, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    How exactly? Can i get some directions on how to this step by step please? And I read
    LG is supposed to be skipping the jellybean update and going straght to.kitkat for lg optimus f3 and others phones...
     

Share This Page

Loading...