1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Virtual Box

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Savage Shadows, Aug 12, 2012.

1. Savage Shadows

Savage Shadows Android Enthusiast

I downloaded Virtual Box from Oracle, and am running Ubuntu 12.04 with the purpose of working on kernels for Android. I've read that Perl is a good program to unpack boot.img files. Should I use Perl, or is there something else I should use?

Or, should I not even be using a virtual machine to unpack and edit? I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate.

I'm sure I'll have other questions along the way, I'm just starting to learn. So I decided to open a thread to post them instead of posting these unrelated question in other threads.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. 2fast4u88

2fast4u88 Android Enthusiast

Unpacking a boot image will serve no purpose on building kernels. The kernel image is inside the boot.img and is already compiled as the zimage. Then to build a kernel you don't need to unpack the boot.img either.

Edit: Sorry missed the spot where you said you had ubuntu setup. If setup you need to setup your dev tools, sdk, get a toolchain and the kernel source. O and ditch ubuntu it blows, install mint...

3. cookiefrog

cookiefrog Well-Known Member

+1 on mint
    And if you are on a compatible 64 bit machine and ask nicely 2fast might even share his custom bfs linux kernel....

:)

Sent from my HTC Hero S using Tapatalk 2

4. 2fast4u88

Lol I forgot about that :p

5. Savage Shadows

Well then, if 64 bit windows 7 ultimate with 4gb ram does the trick, here goes!
    [​IMG]

6. Savage Shadows