• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Savage Shadows

Android Enthusiast
Jun 22, 2012
Phoenix, AZ
I downloaded Virtual Box from Oracle, and am running Ubuntu 12.04 with the purpose of working on kernels for Android. I've read that Perl is a good program to unpack boot.img files. Should I use Perl, or is there something else I should use?

Or, should I not even be using a virtual machine to unpack and edit? I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate.

I'm sure I'll have other questions along the way, I'm just starting to learn. So I decided to open a thread to post them instead of posting these unrelated question in other threads.

I downloaded Virtual Box from Oracle, and am running Ubuntu 12.04 with the purpose of working on kernels for Android. I've read that Perl is a good program to unpack boot.img files. Should I use Perl, or is there something else I should use?

Or, should I not even be using a virtual machine to unpack and edit? I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate.

I'm sure I'll have other questions along the way, I'm just starting to learn. So I decided to open a thread to post them instead of posting these unrelated question in other threads.

Unpacking a boot image will serve no purpose on building kernels. The kernel image is inside the boot.img and is already compiled as the zimage. Then to build a kernel you don't need to unpack the boot.img either.

Edit: Sorry missed the spot where you said you had ubuntu setup. If setup you need to setup your dev tools, sdk, get a toolchain and the kernel source. O and ditch ubuntu it blows, install mint...

Upvote 0
Unpacking a boot image will serve no purpose on building kernels. The kernel image is inside the boot.img and is already compiled as the zimage. Then to build a kernel you don't need to unpack the boot.img either.