1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root want to root my phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sumterdad, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. sumterdad

    sumterdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    13
    77
    33
    I would like to root my phone tonight if I can just need to be guided with the right procedures
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    You have a Moto Razr correct (it's not listed under your profile so I'm just making sure)? Are you on GB or ICS?
     
  3. sumterdad

    sumterdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    13
    77
    33
    ICS if that stands for ice cream sandwich just updated a few weeks ago if i remember right
     
  4. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    Ok Sumterdad your in good hands now. :D
     
  5. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    He has a Maxx if that makes a difference.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Thanks for the info!

    Razr and Maxx software are both the same on Vzw. Makes troubleshooting SOOOooooooo much easier! :)
     
  8. sumterdad

    sumterdad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    13
    77
    33
    So I just download that and go
     
  9. matdr57

    matdr57 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    71
    7
    16
    Male
    frac hand
    mcalester ok
    Yep its a really nice tool to have especially if something don't want to cooperate u can fix it with it
     
  10. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Make sure you install the Motorola usb drivers first or you will likely run into problems.
    Just do a quick Google search for razr maxx usb drivers and it should be the first couple results
     
  11. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    hey guys I'm new here and i want to make my phone a hot spot (wifi) so i can get internet on my laptop (macbook air) for free. i have a droid razr maxx 4.0.4 version and i have to do everything compatible with my macbook.
    thanks a lot for help ahead
     
  12. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Just download foxfi and use that if all you want to do is tether
     
  13. matther22xdroid

    matther22xdroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #404
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    200
    28
    63
    Male
    Indiana, US
    Whats wrong with using the mobile hotspot app in your app drawer?
     
  14. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    don't you have to pay for hotspot internet
     
  15. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    wow thanks a lot, not going to root my phone now, but 1 question, i have unlimited data i was grandfathered into it, so just to make sure I'm not going to get charged for using this app
     
  16. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    I've used it, many others have used it, and I haven't seen any case where anyone has been charged, or in "trouble" for using it. Yes verizon can probably tell you are using it, especially if you start using an insane amount of data but I think you'll be fine.

    I still recommend you root your phone, just for the simple factor of using Titanium backup to back all your apps up in case something happens and you need to factory reset, it makes it so much easier.
     
  17. matther22xdroid

    matther22xdroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #404
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    200
    28
    63
    Male
    Indiana, US
    You will lose that unlimited soon enough (the next time you upgrade).
     
  18. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Unless he buys the next phone at full retail.
     
  19. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    how you know that?
     
  20. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    It's been said numerous times. Verizon has gone to only the shared data plans, so next time you change your contract (I. E. Buy a phone at a discounted rate, locking yourself in for 2 more years) you will be forced into the shared data crap.

    This is why I'm either going to pay full retail, or possibly switch carriers. I know t mobile has their new unlimited 4g. I just don't know how there service is. I would hate to leave the service of verizon but we'll see...
     
  21. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    thats really shitty
     
  22. matther22xdroid

    matther22xdroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #404
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    200
    28
    63
    Male
    Indiana, US
    Im surprised you didn't know this.

    Even though T-Mobile is unlimited now just wait they will start throttling first and then limit data like every other carrier. Data is money these days not talk and text. It's simply what smartphones have done to the networks.
     
  23. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    It's designed to save people with a lot of devices money because you share the data with everyone in your plan. But it's like 40 bucks for 2 gb of data. Completely useless for me as I have the 4 gbs of data for 30 from the double data promotion.
     
  24. jivens716

    jivens716 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    192
    33
    43
    College Student
    Asheville, NC
    How did you rooting go??
     
  25. bovkun005

    bovkun005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    oil rigs
    ND dickinson
    i never rooted it, i just need the wifi and I'm using foxfi which works perfectly
     

Share This Page

Loading...