• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Weird issues with restore and general update questions.

n2audio

Lurker
Jun 12, 2012
ks
Hi -- So I'm new to Android "management". I've been on WP for several years and recently switched over to Android.

My wife and I both got new phones at Christmas (LG G3's, t-mobile version to use with AT&T). We got them up and running w/o any problems. Hers went through multiple updates from 4.2 to 6.0.
Mine, however got stuck in 4.x. So I flashed it to the stock rom (which did NOT go smoothly). THEN after a series up updates it got to where it was supposed to be.

THEN -- My wife's phone's bezel cracked and the seller offered us an exchange. So I backed both phones up - restored her back up to my undamaged phone for her to use, wiped hers, and returned it (I'm using my old backup WP temporarily).

My concern is when I get my phone back -- If I wipe it (she has it cluttered up w/all kinds of garbage) before I restore it is there a chance I'll end up stuck back at 4.x and have to flash and start all over again?

Also - any speculation as to what might have caused my phone to hang up in 4.x?

Doing a "factory reset" only deletes user-installed apps, data and settings. It does not undo operating system updates. "Factory data reset" would be a better name. So no, it won't put you back to 4.x.

I don't know why yours did not update. You say that the phones were new, but also that they were T-Mobile phones to use with ATT, so presumably unlocked and maybe not completely new. It is possible that if you were using T-Mobile handsets on a different network that is what caused problems with the update (since carrier handsets have carrier-specific updates), though that begs the question of why your wife's phone did get the updates. What stock ROM did you flash to get this going?

Upvote 0
What stock ROM did you flash to get this going?