• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What causes a crash loop? Is Android really this unstable if you're not an advanced user?

PHONE DETAILS:
HTC Desire Z (Gingerbread)
Not rooted or jailbroken
No Android Task Killer
*I use ADWLauncherEX instead of the HTC Sense UI.
**Purchased in July 2011 (I badly need a physical QWERTY keyboard.)

First off, I'm incredibly frustrated that Android can be this unstable. I've owned a Blackberry, Nokia (symbian), and an iPhone, but I have never had a problem with the OS that could not be resolved by merely rebooting it ONCE.

Moreover, let's face the facts: Not everyone has advanced programming skills. I'm not a total noob, but it's safe to say that I know my way around my gadgets than most average people. I apologize if I'm asking something that might seem stupid to some people.

Ultimately, experiencing something like this makes the phone an inconvenience. I'd like to think that owning an Android is about usability and versatility.

ANYWAY, the problem:

The loop began immediately after this happened:

My battery was nearly drained, and I had just stepped into the office. By the time the phone indicated it was shutting down, I managed to plug it to my laptop for charging (I forgot to bring my wall charger), but it shut down anyway.

I borrowed a colleague's wall charger a few minutes later and when I turned it on, the crash and boot loop started.

I tried doing a system recovery (by holding down the power and optical navigator buttons at the same time and selecting RECOVERY), but the phone just got stuck on the phone icon with a red warning sign (triangle and exclamation symbol).

Is my phone hopeless at this point? Do I have to do a factory reset? I have no back up of my files that aren't in the micro SD. (By the way, is there a way to download my files from the internal memory at this point?)