1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What will happen if i factory reset my android?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Ariianna, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. Ariianna

    Ariianna Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I want to reset my android because whenever i try to download apps from the android market, it gets stuck at "starting download".

    I already tried clearing cache in market multiple times.

    I logged out and in to google talk(even though i couldnt type log myself in because when i logg out of that app it logs me back in the next time i use it)
    When i reset it will it still be synced with my original google account, or can i use a new one?

    I want to know exactly what is going to happen to my android if i reset it to its factory settings.

    Also, what should i do before i reset it.(should i log out of all sites? remove sd card?)

    and does this sound like a problem with the phone, or do you think its just a problem with my google accounts? If its a problem with my phone i have 4 more days to return it.

    I would appreciate any bit of help or info.
     

    Advertisement

  2. stu1978

    stu1978 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    87
    12
    18
    Factory reset will wipe all your programs and settings and put your phone back its original 'factory' state, i.e like when you 1st got it.
     
  3. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    At that point you can put in your old google account or you can create a new one. But if you create a new one you will have to pay for any apps you purchased with your old account again.

    My old phone would get stuck at starting download because I was on such a slow internet connection. It would take about 5-10 minutes for the download to actually start.
     
  4. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    Hi

    Welcome to the forums, Ariianna.

    What phone do you have? I believe in general, a factory reset should erase all user data such as apps, messages, phone logs, user accounts etc. I'm pretty sure it won't touch media files that are on your sd card.

    Anyways, have you tried clearing your data from the google services framework? I usually do that when I have issues with my market or google apps. I clear the data then reboot.
     
  5. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    I've factory reset my phone several times and it didn't do anything to what I had on my sd card. But to be safe I still copied the sd card and saved it on my pc.
     
  6. Ariianna

    Ariianna Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I have a huawei ascend(i got it from metro, but its an android)
    I'm able to download apps from the metro market but not the android market (i know it's possible to download them from there because my sister has the same phone and is able to download apps),
    so thats why i'm thinking there is a problem with my google account and not the phone.
    So, what do you mean clear data? how would i go about doing that?


    Thanks to everyone for the replys it helped a lot.
     
  7. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    You mentioned you have cleared the cache from your market so it's the same way but instead of the market, clear the cache and data from an application called Google Services Framework.
     
  8. Ariianna

    Ariianna Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I don't have that on here.
    Thanks for helping me though.
    I'll try resetting my phone and see what happens.
     
  9. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    Really? So if you go to Settings>Applications>manage Applications>All>

    It's not listed, that would be weird.

    Well I hope everything turns out well for you.

    Don't forget to check out our Huawei Ascend Sub-forums. Have a good one. :)

    Huawei Ascend - Android Forums
     
  10. Ariianna

    Ariianna Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    The reset was a success!! Thank you for all the help. :)
     
  11. ambientdroid

    ambientdroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    249
    9
    36
    Japan
    If I do a factory reset, will my OS revert back to eclair?

    My carrier updated me to froyo recently, but it wasn't over-the-air. I had to take it into the shop, it looked like they installed some sort of installer application to do it - not sure if that makes a difference.

    Just wondering if the 'factory' info/backup on the phone would have been updated too. They now ship this phone with froyo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...