1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

why isnt the n1 capacative?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LABRAT, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. LABRAT

    LABRAT Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    120
    4
    56
    Burnley UK
    i love my hero i really do.. but like everyone else im allways on the lookout for the next big thing (or is that just me :0) )

    the nexus one seems to tick so many boxes... why the hell did they cripple it with a resistive touch screen?

    wouldnt a hero with a snapdragon and 2.1 have been better?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Nexus one IS capacitive....
     
  3. gentlefury

    gentlefury Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    252
    1
    36
    yeah i dont know where your getting this info.
     
  4. pulsarman

    pulsarman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    76
    0
    15
    i think the op means multi touch, im not sure if it is or not but i heard that its not and in the launch for it there was no multi touch zoom just double tapping etc
     
  5. LABRAT

    LABRAT Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    120
    4
    56
    Burnley UK
    i read it was resistive
     
  6. Martina

    Martina Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Apparently multi-touch will be available in European models
     
  7. gentlefury

    gentlefury Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    252
    1
    36
    nope, it's a capacitive touch screen just like the droid and iphone and mutli-touch is available in 3rd party apps like dolphin and picsay, just like the droid
     
  8. Napster

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    You read wrong. Its obvious you never even touch an N1.
     
  9. BacteriaEP

    BacteriaEP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008

    Sep 30, 2008
    47
    0
    15
    I'm usng my N1 right now and, as somebody who's used both resistive (HTC Touch, LG Dare) and capacitive screens (T-Mob G1, iPhone, iPod Touch, Nexus One) I can tell you without a doubt in my mind that the N1's screen is capacitive.

    It's as accurate as my iPod Touch and feels just as great. The only thing missing is the multi-touch which is a bummer, but not a deal breaker. I rarely use it on my iPod Touch and I rarely miss it on my Android phones (G1, N1).

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    176
    1
    36
    i think the op is just [REMOVED BY MOD]. he is right the screen in not capasative....it is however capacitive.....move on people, nothing to see here.
     
  11. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    483
    29
    43
    Tampa
    I think you're.... getting reported. Yep.
     
  12. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Infractions have been issued to those need be. Please refrain from being disrespectful...

    Thank you

    Carl
     
  13. markouk

    markouk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    302
    0
    35
    Fife, Scotland
    There is no excuse for being disrespectful but sometimes it's just the way that people word their questions. The question may have been better presented as "Does the N1 have a capacitive screen?". In the body the OP could have elaborated in the body, "I heard that the N1 screen is resistive, is this true?".
    I think sometimes people have difficulty communicating what they're trying to get across. Don't be too harsh on the OP, I just think people are a bit sensitive about any slurs on their new baby.
    Don't take it to heart everyone, I didn't!!
     
  14. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Hi Markouk,

    Theirs nothing wrong with the OP's question or post at all :) & Androidforums promotes and respects peoples opinions. Thats what forums are all about!

    I simply wrote that as Someone had called another member an offensive term being disrespectful. everything else was fine ;)

    Carl
     
  15. markouk

    markouk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    302
    0
    35
    Fife, Scotland
    Yeah, I noticed that. No need for naughty words. Let's all kiss and make up! **Where are the lovey smilies**
    That is a bad sign on any forum! Seriously, maybe worth looking into someone!
     
  16. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    176
    1
    36
    It was not meant to be mean and it was in no way a bad word. It actually looks worse now that you removed it. Geez you guys are way too sensitive. And honestly I could really care less.
     
  17. ManMythLegend

    ManMythLegend Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    Sep 3, 2009
    246
    4
    36
    He must work for Engadget !!
     
  18. Promo

    Promo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    i can't go an where without hearing people whine about the IPHONE not having multi touch. i mean N1.

    get it? it not an apple its a HTC/google phone and multi-touch is available through 3rd party apps. I've been using dolphin and have used pinch zoom without problem.

    and other apps too that have it programed into their apps.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...