1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Zoom but no re-wrapping

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mkb, May 15, 2010.

1. mkb

mkb Member

May 15, 2010
    Hi. I'm a newbie Desire user so apols if I've missed something! When I use the default web browser I can pinch to zoom in to the text but it doesn't rewrap at all - I thought it should. ie if I zoom in I then have to pan left/right to read it! ta M

Advertisement

2. wisewood

wisewood Active Member

May 3, 2010
    Well i've just tried it on BBC SPORT and its wrapping it for me with pinch-to-zoom, and with double tap to zoom.

Does it do it on all webpages? and are you using the standard browser or another app?

3. simon1

simon1 Well-Known Member

May 6, 2010
    Looks like it depends on whether the website recognises that you are on a mobile device or not. The Beeb's loads a mobile version of their site, but some others don't so it zooms and then you need to pan around.

4. mkb

mkb Member

May 15, 2010

if I go to BBC Sport and then the main (Chelsea win the FA Cup) page then pinch to zoom all the words do get bigger BUT there is no wrapping at all.

I am using the default browser as far as I am aware (not sure hot to check - not seen an 'About...' menu item!)

5. mkb

mkb Member

May 15, 2010
    and yes on all web pages that I have tried

6. mkb

mkb Member

May 15, 2010
    if somebody wants to choose another page where the wrapping *definitely* works then I'm happy to try that too :)

7. wisewood

wisewood Active Member

May 3, 2010
    you can change the settings to prevent the websites being displayed as a mobile version.

HTC Desire - Android Forums (first visit from my phone) is wrapping when pinch-zooming.

My internet settings are as follows;
    Everything is ticked except landscape-only display.
    Default zoom medium.
    text size normal

8. mkb

mkb Member

May 15, 2010