1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ZTE merit network

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whyde1981, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. whyde1981

    whyde1981 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hi I have a ZTE merit that said network unknown so I called straight talk and they did something to it which put it on the edge network which still will only pick up outside on the porch rail. Worse if I moved from the porch rail all signal is lost and does not come back Grrr . Just wondering what network your merit says under about phone, phone status. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. stayboogy

    stayboogy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    867
    285
    113
    i'm on 'edge' at my home, but 3g in the cities around me. edge is still the network just without the speed of data with 3g

    and it's not the phone company's fault really. you should've checked the coverage map before you bought it or checked your zip code on the website to see if it would work in your area. it's not nationwide for their android phones...
     
  3. kingmt

    kingmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    609
    77
    78
    Male
    IRCop & Dev
    WV
    E, 3g, & G. I wonder if the G is the LTE upgrade.
     
  4. stayboogy

    stayboogy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    867
    285
    113
    i have no idea.

    'g' stands for 'generation' in 2g 3g and 4g (not speed like everyone thinks it does)

    edge is equal to sprint's roaming--still have service, but it's not as good because it's relaying off another company's equipment. i dealt with them for years and it's exactly the same
     
  5. whyde1981

    whyde1981 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks and I did check straight talk has also checked and said I should have great service....
     
  6. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,849
    873
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    G is the generic label for GPRS Packet Data, basically dial up. Slower than Edge and 3G. First gen data back during the old days of the Nokia 3590
     
  7. kingmt

    kingmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    609
    77
    78
    Male
    IRCop & Dev
    WV
    It is rare that I get it but my phone still scoots on it as long as there is a couple of bars. better then edge. seems the same as 3g to me.
     
  8. kingmt

    kingmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    609
    77
    78
    Male
    IRCop & Dev
    WV
    It may be your APN settings. Go where you have Wi-Fi & use the tweaker App.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...