google g2 wifi callingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. paul-e

    paul-e Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to enable calling through wifi? When I was in an area with no service with my BB I could connect to wifi and use that to place and receive calls.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    On your old Blackberry, what you are describing is a feature that RIM added called VOIP for Blackberry.

    On Android the closest similar feature can be found by adding either the Google Voice or Skype app's. I'm not sure, however, that either could completely emulate what you experienced on BB. In other words I'm not sure how to set it up so it would automatically engage the app in the event you were out of range of your carriers service.
     
  3. Artemis68

    Artemis68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you're talking about UMA, which is a T-Mobile feature. I'm assuming you're on T-Mobile cause you have a G2. :)

    G2 doesn't have UMA....yet. I actually downloaded the wifi calling app (official one) since it was leaked last week, but it doesn't work yet. T-Mobile has to enable it.

    Rumor has it that the myTouch HD will support UMA so I'd keep an eye out around Nov 3 or so to expect a possible update or so.
     
  4. blkidea

    blkidea Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't you technically call using google voice through wi-fi? I remember I did not pay my bill once and got my service suspended, but I was able to use wi-fi to send text messages and make calls through google voice.
     
  5. juztshaun

    juztshaun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone explain to me the point of wifi calling if its still using your montly minutes?
     
  6. DarkStarPDX

    DarkStarPDX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    To make money.
     
  7. fangorious

    fangorious Guest

    If you're in a bad coverage area but have wifi, you can still communicate. Martimus and Artemis have it backwards. The BlackBerry and Nokia devices supported UMA and T-Mobile had (has?) a $10 a month unlimited UMA plan. This 'new' service on the G2 and the MyTouch 4G is a free VOIP app. The difference between the two is UMA is supposed to to a live handoff when switching between wifi and carrier without dropping the call. This VOIP app just drops the call.
     
  8. juztshaun

    juztshaun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I owned a Blackberry Curve 8900 and one of the selling points was the free wifi calling. There was no additional charge to my montly bill for using it nor did it take away from my montly minutes. This "new" wifi calling makes sense for people in bad coverage areas but it's pointless for everyone else. Thanks for explaining it to me.
     
  9. clitrenta

    clitrenta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    52
    It's not "pointless" for those of us that have reception issues at home. I'm in a decent coverage area but my house is very problematic. I just did a manual update today and have tried out the WiFi calling - beautiful. By the way, calling by WiFi DOES count against your minutes. T-Mo stopped offering Free HotSpot at home a while ago. It may not seem like much to some but for people like me who have a hard time maintaining a signal at home, it's the best thing since sliced bread.
     
  10. Artemis68

    Artemis68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Considering that Wi-Fi calling is FREE on T-Mobile phones that support it, how are they making money? They aren't.

    Wi-Fi calling is a godsend to me. Signal simply STINKS in my dorm room. I can't stand it. I just manually updated my G2 to get wifi calling and it works like a charm. I haven't seen a huge battery drain either, in fact, my battery is BETTER with it, probably because it isn't constantly searching for towers.
     
  11. paul-e

    paul-e Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I'm super new to android how do I manually update to get this feaature? And yes I had a BB curve 8900 which I was able to use to make calls when I had no wireless signal but wifi was available
     

Share This Page

Loading...