• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How delicate are smartphones? I have a toddler! Thinking of Desire (HD?), Defy, other suggestions?

Manuela

Dec 21, 2010
UK
I'm a newbie, so be gentle with me :D

I really would love to get a android smartphone (I have an antique mobile that just about works so this will be a HUGE step for me) and I am really drawn to the HTC Desire or even the Desire HD but not sure how well one of those will cope with life with me and my toddler :rolleyes: He's 19 months old and a little bit of a handful at times and I have been known to give him my mobile wich just about plays vidoes to keep him quiet for a minute or two... until he throws it across the room :eek:. How I wouldn't let him do this with a new smartphone but there probably will be times when he'll find it lying on the side or pull it out of my handbag.... :rolleyes:

Being made of glass, perhaps I should wait another year or 2 until my little boy is older and better behaved but I really want one now! Do you think a Desire / Desire HD would survive in our home (with a protector - any particular recommendations welcomed!) or perhaps I should only be thinking of the more rugged Motorola Defy? (If so, would you recommend getting a protector for that too?) Or do you have any other suggestions? I can't be the only parent on here...

If it makes any difference, I am based in the UK and I'm currently on the 3 network. Thanks!

Reactions: lunameow
I wouldn't worry about the glass screen so much as accidental calls to phones on the other side of the world. ;)

Providing the kid with his or her own, special phone might be the way to go.

08290a.jpg

Upvote 0