• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help M8 - couple of questions puzzling me please....

davo26

Android Enthusiast
Jun 5, 2011
hi

im new to this phone after coming from a rooted One X. trying to get it how i want it but theres a couple of things id like help with, so id appreciate some advice please.

1. the apps i swapped over from the One X now have ads popping up on them. i looked at adblock plus for android and installed it, but for some reason my internet was then really slow, so i uninstalled it. whats changed for the ads to pop up? is it because root settings can disable them? am i able to do anything to stop them?

2. my internet browser (same app as One X, dolphin mini) now displays my favourite website in a way that i have to keep scrolling across the page to read forum posts. before the text was wrapped to fit the screen. it only seems to do it with my favourite website, so could be specific to that, but again, its only the phone thats changed, nothing else. all my settings were imported over.
any ideas on this one?

3. what advantage would rooting get me? i rooted my past phones purely to improve battery life, im not one for fiddling with settings. battery life is decent on the stock rom loaded with it, so is it worth rooting for any other advantages? im not very techy.

thanks a lot :)

http://androidforums.com/threads/to...what-are-the-pros-and-cons-of-rooting.935413/

Read the whole thread for best results.

Root ad blocking is faster and saves battery compared to non root solutions.

The best way to get rid of app ads is to buy the premium version.

Websites now format the output based on the screen dots per inch instead of mobile vs desktop, sometimes with stupid results. You can't do much about that, try a different browser for offending sites.

Upvote 0
http://androidforums.com/threads/to...what-are-the-pros-and-cons-of-rooting.935413/

Read the whole thread for best results.