• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Rooting my brand new LG Volt question to be used as a music player...

So I just bought a new LG volt to use SOLELY as a music player to replace my ipod classic (64 gb card in my lg volt), I have tmobile so will not be using this as a phone, i just bought it from best buy so how do I know if I have the z4 update already installed? I tried to use Towelroot but it says my device is not supported I did NOT update the phone since getting it an hour ago, no update has been downloaded or anything so how do I know if I have the z4 update?

Also, if I do, what is the easiest way to root so I can delete all the bloatware? What is the best battery saving rom to install if I am using it ONLY as a media player?

This is my first time rooting anything so any advice is appreciated thank you!

NO ACTIVATION and I plan on rooting the phone.

OP, got a couple of questions for you... and those in the know.

Just ordered a LG Volt model LGLS740 via Bestbuy as I had a gift card or two. Noticed Amazon LLC (Ships and Sold by Amazon) has Volt for $59.99, so I called up BestBuy.com which had Volt @ $79.99 and they did a no-hassle price match to $59.99.

Don't plan on ACTIVATING the phone, unless my testing indicates Sprint network has increased their coverage / reworked their network in the past 3yrs.

I was hoping to be able to see signal strength /use apps that show signal strength without activating the phone.
(I know I will not be able to do download tests, I was interested in just mapping signal strength.)

Reason?
Had tried the Virgin Mobile branded LG Optimus about 3yrs ago and data speeds were inconsistent.
(My theory being since VM leases space from SPRINT and that 4G /LTE was supposedly rolling out at that time towers were A: Overloaded, and B: SPRINT customers got first preference on towers and VM customers got whatever bandwidth was left over.)