• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Samsung Customer Support - My Experience

Jofaba

Android Enthusiast
Jun 27, 2010
Before I start let me say that I'm not trashing Samsung or the Captivate. I just wanted to share my experience so far as a heads up to anyone else who may find themselves in a similar situation.

edit: wow this is long, sorry. I am a writer so... I tend to use a lot of words... here's a summary

> phone kept locking up, only way to fix is to fieldstrip the phone and remove the battery. several lockups during vacation. during one fieldstrip phone slipped out of hand and fell 1-2 feet onto sidewalk and screen broke. angry because i feel like i have a defective phone and now it's going to be all about the screen. begrudgingly conceed to samsung support and agree to pay quoted $70 to replace screen and they will fix the other problems. get a bill today for $162. not happy. probably wont buy samsung in the future <

Like many of you, I have been experiencing problems since day one. I probably use my phone for about 1-2 hours a day (besides playing with new programs/games/customizing) so I experienced these problems fairly rarely. But last weekend I went on vacation and my Captivate ended up being used for everything. It was my only camera, my only web source, my only phone, my only gps, etc.

I got a protective case for it for the trip, but ultimately that didn't matter because as I was using the phone constantly it became apparent that the problems I was experiencing were outside the norm. It was freezing up and becoming unresponsive several times a day, and the only way to fix it was to take the battery out, which involves removing the protective cover.

On the last day of my vacation the phone locked up again for upwards of the tenth time, and unfortunately while putting the phone back together it slipped out of my hand and fell 1-2 feet onto it's face, and busted the glass.