Star 228 send option 2Support


Last Updated:

  1. Wolvie66

    Wolvie66 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can somebody tell me why verizon would tell me 1 a month on my Droid X to hit star 228 send then hit option 2. Just got off the phone with them about a warranty plan and they told me to do this once a month...



    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. adidas1124

    adidas1124 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    *228 - option 2 updates your roaming capabilities... VZW reps seem to think it's a cure all for any connectivity issues...
     
  3. BigBruDa3rd

    BigBruDa3rd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    23
    This option is used to update ur roaming capabilities. Also aligns your phone with any towers around the area that you are located at that time. It improves your signal so its also a good idea to do this when you are in a place that you visit alot or if you go out of town. I also think that if their is extra info or packets of info for that tower, you phone will receive it and improve your reception.
     
  4. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    When we get our phones, we have to do a *228 option 1 to activate, then *228 option 2 for roaming capabilities. It updates the PRL file. (Preferred Roaming List).

    Actually, there's an easier way to do both at once. You can dial *22899 and you're set.
    This isn't vital information for regular DX users, but vital for root users and regular users who have done a factory reset on their phones.

    When you do a factory reset, you have to update your PRL. When, as a root user, you install a fresh rom, wiping data, cache and system, it's just as if you're starting from scratch. If you don't update in either situation, then you will have very poor call quality. Trust me, I was getting complaints from people on the other end of my calls. When I installed a fresh rom, updated from eclair to froyo or did a factory reset, I didn't know to update the actual phone! It sounded awful

    So, whenever you get a replacement phone from VZW, you have to do the same thing. My daughter needed her Incredible replaced. She sounded terrible until I told her to do a *22899. Muuuuch better after.

    So, yeah, keep updating your phones. You'll only benefit from doing it!

    Happy Thanksgiving! :)
     
  5. LTrain0800

    LTrain0800 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    This helped my reception so much, Thank you. I thought cell phones did this as a matter of course, guess not.
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Do we need to do a *22899? I did that once awhile ago and my reception seemed worse to be honest.

    I normally just do a *228 option 2 after I flash a ROM and I'm good to go.
     
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Brother,

    *22899 is the same as *228 option 1 AND 2. Would your reception be worse because of that? No. Also, you should get in the habit of doing both options 1 and 2 when clearing system.

    Finallly, if you reception is cruddy, there is a tweak in phone system tweak, that I did but forget. Let me know if you want me to get it for you.
     
    Trooper likes this.
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Well I basically have to activate the phone when I flash a ROM, and I end up doing option 2 afterwards. Good to know I can get both done with one call. :)

    As for the reception, you can shoot it my way if you find it. No rush!

    Thanks brother!
     
  9. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Some people have reported to have better quality on the default setting then from the
    custom setting. Some have also reported that the custom setting makes them sound crystal clear. Use at your own discretion.

    Step 1 – Dial ##7764726 (##PROGRAM) and press SEND
    Step 2 – Enter 000000 (six zeros), for the SPC Password and press Verify
    Step 3 – Press “04 Vocode”
    Step 4 – Press EVRC-B then Apply
    Step 5 – The phone should automatically reset a few seconds afterward. If not, power cycle the phone.
    Done

    This changes how the phone compresses and decompresses the call audio which improves the quality"

    To undo just follow steps 1-3 again and instead of pressing EVRC-B select EVRC then apply
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    GSM phones update on a power cycle. CDMA phones must be done manually.

    GMB
     
  11. mannyramirez

    mannyramirez Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a dumb question, since I rooted and went with a custom rom I can seem to get the keypad to show up while dialing * 228, it goes to a custom screen. Any hints?
     

Share This Page

Loading...