Wifi tethering question

Last Updated:

1. mickskillz

mickskillz Active Member This Topic's Starter

I have rooted my DI, and i downloaded the newest wifi tethering app 2.0.5. I can connect to my droid with my wireless pc, but it always say no internet connection. It shows i'm connected but without internet access. Any help, i've never done this before. Thanks

Advertisement
  2. DiegoMejia

DiegoMejia Well-Known Member

1. Download File http://goo.gl/8jaD
    2. Extract .bin File from zip
    3. Create android.tether folder on root of sdcard
    4. place .bin in newly created android.tether folder
    5. launch wifitether and try again

3. mickskillz

I just tried this, and still getting same results... I am having a hard time getting back into recovery... i had to use a different sd card and can't replicate the process..

4. mickskillz

disregard..i got it to work.... i had to change to dhcp on my pc instead of the static ip i had setup

crimton likes this.
  5. Matchbox

Matchbox Active Member

I, unfortunately, have been having the same problem. When I first rooted it worked fine, but after I restarted the phone once it does exactly what you're describing. I have the fw_bcm file in my android.tether folder on my sdcard as well. Anyone have any ideas as to what I should do?

6. Yaksha

Yaksha Well-Known Member

I haven't rooted my phone yet, but I was wondering if you could set a WPA key for the wifi.

7. Matchbox

Matchbox Active Member

Yes, you can.

8. jfoey22

jfoey22 Well-Known Member

I think the connection issue has to do with the SD card that you had in the device when you rooted. I have to put the rooted SD card back in the phone in order for my PC to connect.

I have a question about WIFI tethering. The type of connection it creates is Peer to Peer, vs. like a normal WiFi network. My PS3 doesn't see my DINC when I am tethering but my PC does. Anyway to change the connection type from Peer to Peer to Wifi Router?

9. paimon.soror