1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Any news on Jelly Bean for S2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jempub, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. jempub

    jempub Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    92
    0
    15
    Hello all.

    Any news on when/if we will be getting Jelly Bean for the Sprint
    Galaxy SII?

    Talk soon,
    G
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cavemansol

    Cavemansol Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    370
    84
    53
    Seattle Wa
  3. guyphs

    guyphs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    269
    116
    68
    I'm running the fk23 leak up at xda right now. Awesome tw jb experience.
     
  4. JaniceK

    JaniceK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    63
    7
    16
    Something happened to my phone several weeks ago causing "strange" things you happen such as all of a sudden, it went from 7 home screens to only 5 - erasing all my widgets in the process.
    Also there were 5 (4 changeable) buttons at the bottom of each home screen instead of 4 with the fixed middle one being an "all apps" access?
    Sprint store was unable to explain, but whole experience looked like it was Jellybean? I reset the phone and "problem" disappeared back to ICS. Now I am thinking that really was a "leak" from JB...and not sure I am going to like the real version?
     
  5. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I sounds like you went from Touchwiz to "stock" ICS. The description you provided is exactly how my ICS is right now. I stopped using TW long ago. Don't know why the Sprint store couldn't figure that out, but then again, they do have their issues.
     
    JaniceK likes this.
  6. JaniceK

    JaniceK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    63
    7
    16
    Kitsap, you are probably correct because the version # still showed it was ICS. You are also correct that the Sprint stores do have their own issues - but at least the reps have a job & try to be helpful - and the ones I have dealt with are pleasant & courteous even if they don't know as much as the Phandroid posters! This forum has been a real help to me re: various issues and I thank you all.
     
  7. sidel

    sidel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012

    Dec 12, 2012
    4
    0
    25

    The FK23 rom is suppose to be the Jelly Bean release for Sprint's Galaxy S2. I installed this lastnight and its great.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. john_ralph

    john_ralph Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    74
    2
    16
    Sorry for the gravedig, but I was looking for some updates on this post? User experience seems to be mixed.
     
  9. iTzKPanda

    iTzKPanda AF's resident panda
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,017
    544
    233
    Male
    Student
    Tampa, FL
    They've rolled out the update in Spain I believe. It's probably gonna be a while until the US gets it.
     
  10. timmertc

    timmertc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    57
    6
    16
    Systems Admin
    Atlanta, GA
  11. john_ralph

    john_ralph Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    74
    2
    16
    Is there anyone on here still that currently has this download in the op still applied?
     
  12. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    3,982
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    3,982
    3,679
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
  13. kingerp

    kingerp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    7
    1
    6
    I can't post a link to it since I only registered recently, but if you want Jelly Bean on your E4GT right now you can always check out the unofficial CM10.1 rom (the "WILD FOR THE NIGHT" one) that you can find on XDA.

    It's very stable, light on your battery, and is being worked on regularly (the most recent update was Jan. 25th). And installation is easy - back your data up, flash EL29 directboot kernel, reboot into recovery, wipe your system, flash the rom, flash gapps, reboot, and you're in business.

    Definitely worth a look if you're dead set on Jelly Bean but aren't willing to wait until some time in the year 2019 for Sprint to release it.

    (note: you need an ICS modem for this build!)
     
  14. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    My non active phone had an update reboot this morning --firmware is 4.0.4. That's still ICS isn't it? Prolly just a new maintenance release? ??
     
  15. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    3,982
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    3,982
    3,679
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Yes, 4.04 is ICS.

    That is probably the software fix for the menu popup problem I was told that was forthcoming. It's a hardware issue, but there is a software workaround that can reduce the number of popups that get through. The processor works a bit more-- basically, it counts to ten and checks to see if the menu command it received is valid or not. This extra processing might mean a slight increase in battery usage.

    If you are not suffering from the menu popup bug, then there will be no additional problems from that patch.

    Of course, I could be mistaken-- the people at the Sprint stores do not impress me with their extensive knowledge of happenings within the company, and so their saying that this latest issue is that patch can be suspect (one must then assume that their saying that JB is coming next month has to be taken with a grain of salt, as well).
     
  16. EzGoingKev

    EzGoingKev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    70
    2
    16
    I see this being rolled out to other countries, any word on issues?
     

Share This Page

Loading...