• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Buying my Droid at Walmart

Jim1970

Lurker
Jan 28, 2010
Hello folks,

Long time viewer, first time poster. Need some input.

Went to Verizon today, thought I had a free upgrade -- led to this conclusion by verizon rep who told me this when I gave my upgrade to my daughter in November. Rep told me I could have her upgrade at the end of November.

Since that time, I have been waiting, researching, and learning about the Droid. My kiddo got the Eris and hated it, so I have some experience with that phone -- which confirms I want the Droid. After many months, I decided today I was getting the Droid. Went into verizon store and rep told me I did not have an upgrade, and that I could get the phone for $300, with a $100 mail in.

I went to the Walmart site and found the phone for $109 with an instant rebate. That would mean I would own the phone for that price. I spoke to walmart staff yesterday -- they said buying the phone at their store is just like buying it at a verizon store -- with one exception. They cannot transfer my contacts. However, they said verizon will typically transfer them for free, or for $10.

I am upset with Verizon because I feel I was given inaccurate and/or misleading information. I have been with them for years, I pay my bills on time, and I have brought my entire family to Verizon -- I am moving from a traditional phone (env2) to a smart phone, which requires a data plan - so that means more money for them. Grrrrr.

So, with all that said, here is my question: has anyone here bought a Droid at walmart? Did you have any problems? Is there anything to be aware of?

Thanks in advance,

Jim