1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM12.1 Unofficial Beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bad_MOFO_33, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    DELETED
     

    Advertisement

  2. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
  3. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    I'm in ##LG_VOLT on Freenode IRC right now if anyone wants to bounce some ideas around.
     
  4. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    Uh UH!!!!! DELETED, LOOK AWAY. REMOVE IT!



    I could get 3G but I seem to remember issues with LTE.
     
  5. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    968
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY

    Attached Files:

    Ph0enix_216 and SykkNyzz like this.
  6. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    I want to test also
     
  7. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
  8. Ph0enix_216

    Ph0enix_216 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015

    Mar 5, 2015
    293
    298
    98
    Male
    /system/xbin/su
    Hey man, I'd be willing to test as well. My phone had data issues with Lollipop ROMs and my other Volt has the green camera tint. Nice to have someone else building for the Volt :)
     
    dvdavid888 and ChangeOfJinzo like this.
  9. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    I jumped back on to CM12.1 after the OTG update and I'm finding that the soft buttons don't seem to be as sensitive as on stock, requiring a bunch of tapping to activate them. Did I miss a setting somewhere? I'm talking about the back button and the menu button next to the home button.
     
    andMego likes this.
  10. che_edgar

    che_edgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015

    Apr 29, 2015
    169
    93
    63
    Male
  11. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    I wiped everything except for my SD card, (system, data, internal) and then added the following to TWRP flash queue in order. The CM12.1 zip, OpenGapps 5.1 nano zip, and the boost mobile apn fix zip.
     
    #2311 ShapeShifter499, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  12. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    Ok so the buttons appears to work fine now, not sure exactly what changed, just rebooted. On another issue, the OTG support is now successfully in the kernel but the OS side support is missing, requiring manual mounting of USB Storage Devices. This needs to be added @Bad_MOFO_33 @ChangeOfJinzo so we can mount/unmount via settings and have auto mount of USB storage. Stickmount seems to have an issue with EXT3/4 formatted drives resulting in the following error I found in dmesg. "ext4-fs unrecognized mount option "umask=0" or missing value" Not sure if it's a kernel side issue or a bad command being given by Stickmount but I can mount the same EXT4 mounted USB storage using the "mount" command inside of a shell (android terminal app).
     
    SykkNyzz and dvdavid888 like this.
  13. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    I was trying to make the menu key work as a recants key, but some how disabled all my buttons. Can someone give my the Generic.kl file under system>usr>keylayout. I would just use pie controls, but I can't turn on the screen or use volume buttons either.

    Never mind, I fixed it
     
    #2313 Ghost_Killer_134, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  14. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    Has GPS support been broken on the newer builds of CM12.1? I tried reinstalling stock and making sure GPS was on and working before using CM12.1 But no matter what I tried nothing.
     
  15. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    I find that when using data, it sometimes doesn't connect so I have to go into the APN settings and switch between the 2 options until it automatically selects the lte one. Only then does the lte work. Anyone have a fix or the same problem?
     
  16. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    I have been doing that and it worked at first. Now no matter which one i click and how long I wait, I am left without data.
     
  17. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    Which carrier are you on? This may help us better help you.
     
  18. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    Virgin mobile
     
  19. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    When did you get your device, is it on ZV3, 4, 5, or 6 ( these are radio kernels that get updated to match the updated network coverage)
     
  20. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    I got my phone aroimd last year summer. It was on Z3 when I started to mess with custom ROMs. I went onto the debloated stock ROM which put me onto z6, but I then went on to other 4.4.4 ROMs. But no, I never was even able to update to z4,5 or 6 because I had root
     
  21. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    You might need to flash to the main stock recovery and original zv3 stock ROM then upgrade when it requests you to do so. There should be a thread that talks more about it... Should possibly fix your problem...
     
    Android Super R likes this.
  22. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
     
  23. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    Should I flash the ZV6 and then a lollipop ROM, or go to stock and do a legit upgrade then flash a lollipop ROM. If I have do do a legit upgrade, his do I do that because o have root and for some reason it won't upgrade if it knows im rooted
     
  24. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    606
    163
    133
    I'm pretty sure you flash the zv6 radio and than a lollipop ROM (only if you never flashed the radio before), and I didn't get your second question
     
    SykkNyzz likes this.
  25. Ghost_Killer_134

    Ghost_Killer_134 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015

    Jun 3, 2015
    100
    8
    46
    Male
    I was never on ZV6, only ZV3. Someone told me to go to stock and update to ZV6. Someone else gave me a link to a zv6 ROM with a ZV6 radio zip attached. My question is should I go to stock and do an update. Or should I just flash the ZV6 ROM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...