1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CM7 Easy Installation]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nuttmeg, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    When I first starting flashing the Ascend, I got boot loops all the time. Anytime I flashed anything that OC'd higher than 710 put me in boot loops and hangups. I could actually bust out of some of them and get it to work, but doing that at each startup got old, though easier as the build settled in. And I boot looped on the lazy builds a couple times. I must have gotten it broken in because things run pretty smooth for me these days, though I do super clean flashes. I even reformat my sdcard on a totally new build. My phone is VERY particular.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yup I reformat mine every time. And just move the CWR folder back after I do. Since I started downing that Ive never had a problem flash wise.
     
  3. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    I was just fiddling around with my sdcard. I thought a full format on the computer would wipe it fresh. It didn't. I never noticed the partition remained on there. And when I tried to create partition again, it either overwrote the existing one, or just used it again (I'm guessing overwrite.) Either way, partitioning an already partitioned card, even though it really doesn't change anything, wipes out the data outside the partition as well as inside it. Guess I should pay attention to things more often, who knows what I might actually learn. :)
     
  4. DXGypsy

    DXGypsy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    93
    15
    38
    Slave to the Grind
    South Jersey
    Fourth time's the charm. I got it. You nailed it scur. The slightly smaller build flashed right in.
    I'm playing with it now and I need to recover my contacts.
    I saved them via MyBackup but I tried to restore from Titu but the restore is hung up.

    Thanks for everyone's help.

    scur- you get to split the fruitcake with shiny.:
     
  5. Taterhater88er

    Taterhater88er Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    92
    5
    16
    Lol. I'm sorry, but this was just funny to read. :p
     
  6. Sabreslight

    Sabreslight Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    42
    3
    36
    Male
    Student
    Dallas, TX
    Thank you! I finally got it to work by using the Lazy Ascend Rom...I have no idea why I didn't try this earlier :) But it runs fairly slow any ideas to speed it up? It's currently running at max OC...
     
  7. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ

    It might just need to settle in. Do you have SD Speed Increase? You can try that and see if it helps.
     
  8. DXGypsy

    DXGypsy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    93
    15
    38
    Slave to the Grind
    South Jersey
    I've gone back and forth between cm7 and stock several times over the last few days for various reasons.
    Now each time I have flashed back to cm7 I have noticed pieces missing.
    I get the right splash and boot screens but when i got to the lock screen I had the new wallpaper but the old slider.
    On homescreen I had cm7 wallpaper but different icons in the pulldown bar, cm7 icons on system apps, but stock icons for phone, text and contacts.
    This last time I got my old wallpaper, dock, and all but 5 system icons are stock.

    My cm7 seems to have pieces falling off of it like a rotting zombie!

    It seems to be working ok so I'm rolling with it for now, but what could be causing this?

    I checked my info and it says I do have cm7 and everything so I know it's installed. And I tried reclicking themes in the launcher but nothing changed.
     
  9. DXGypsy

    DXGypsy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    93
    15
    38
    Slave to the Grind
    South Jersey
    I should edit this for derpiness.

    Turns out cm7 comes with the theme Chooser app. (Dee da dee)

    Sooo...um. Yeah. Problem solved. o_O
     
  10. swtnss

    swtnss Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    166
    10
    48
    Female
    Business owner
    parts unknown
    Can I install cyanogenmod 7 on my huawei ascend m860 froyo?
     
  11. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yup. I went from 2.1 to CM7
     
  12. swtnss

    swtnss Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    166
    10
    48
    Female
    Business owner
    parts unknown
    Ok good im gonna install it.
     
  13. swtnss

    swtnss Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    166
    10
    48
    Female
    Business owner
    parts unknown
    Can I do it all on my phone rather than my computer.
     
  14. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yup you can. Its just going to take a while to download. But you can. Once you download it, it will be in a download folder, just move it to the root of your sd.
     
  15. swtnss

    swtnss Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    166
    10
    48
    Female
    Business owner
    parts unknown
    Can I install it through the rom manager
     
  16. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
  17. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    I want to install cm7 but how do I know if its a lazy ascend?
     
  18. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Flash a build and if it dont boot within a couple tries, its a lazy Ascend.
     
  19. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth

    And how do I do that?
     
  20. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Depends which way you want to do it. You can do it the easy way or the super easy way. Pick because Im not going to type both. :D
     
  21. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    There isn't a hard way? Jk
    OK the super easy way
     
  22. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    We're going with doing it manually because its actually easier because issues always arise with ROM Manager

    Once rooted (which I think you are) download ROM Manager and open it up and go to "Back up current rom" and back your current up. Then at the top select "Flash recovery" pick the Ascend out of the list and flash the recovery. (I suggest hitting the flash button 3 times to make sure it flashes)

    Then once the recovery is flashed, pick a rom download it and put it on the root of your sd card. Download the gapps too and put them on the root of your sd card. You can find CM7.2 here: CM7-Ascend - Prepaid Android and heres the latest gapps:gapps-gb-20110828-signed 7.2.zip

    then once they are on the root of your sd card (root meaning not in a folder) turn the phone of and while holding the send key and volume up key tap the power. You will then go into clockwork recovery.

    Go to "wipe data/factory reset" and wipe it, then to wipe cache partition and wipe it, then to advanced and select wipe dalvik cache and wipe it. Then go to mounts and storage and format everythinng except the SD card. If you format the sd card it will erase everything on your card.

    Then go to install zip from sd card then to choose zip from sd card and select the rom zip file and flash it. Once that is done go back to choose zip from sd card and flash the gapps. Once those are done hit your back key a couple times so you are on the main screen and go back to advanced and select fix permissions then once that is done go to "reboot system now" When your phone reboots you will be on cm7 and you will have to put all your gmail info in again like you did when you first got the phone.

    then youre done. Enjoy
     
    DMajor239 likes this.
  23. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    it stays stuck in the "huawei" boot screen.
     
  24. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Try to reflash and redownload the rom. You probably got a bad download
     
  25. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    i leave the folders zipped up right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...