• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Corrupt EFS/missing nv_data files

grrgoyl

Jun 13, 2009
I'm running Cyanogenmod 10.1.0-RC5-Hercules on a rooted phone with Jelly Bean 4.2.2 I got off eBay that way (in other words, I'm a newb when it comes to root).

The problem started when I tried updating CM--I can't remember what I tried to update it to, it came through as a new update and I clicked it. Next thing I know, I'm stuck in a boot loop for a solid day. I figured out how to get out of that, but then had a problem with the keyboard not working, couldn't even get online because I couldn't enter the wifi password. I eventually got into recovery mode, where I tried things like wiping the cache partition, wiping the davlik partition, fixing permissions, anything. The only thing that worked was reinstalling an older version of CM.

Fine. This fixed it mostly, except I lost my mobile network and data connection. Long story short, I've been poking around and following tutorials, and the bottom line is I think I've corrupted my EFS. The folder is there, but missing the nv_data files. I've looked around a little more and there doesn't seem to be much hope for me now. I've seen the suggestion to flash Odin, and feel I could manage it, but I'd like to stay rooted if possible (but a fully functional phone is preferable if this is my only option). Does anyone have any suggestions for a newb? I'm so frustrated at this point, and I'll probably never, ever update CM again if I can get my phone back to working smoothly and perfectly like it was.

Thanks in advance

Hi grrgoyl :wavey:

I moved your thread to the All Things Root forum for you.:)

Try dialing *#06#. I think that's the code to dial for your IMEI number to show up. If it does you're ok. nv_data files on this phone are hidden. I don't think anyone has ever found them so its ok if they don't show up.