• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Does the Music app ONLY play stored mp3s?

Zwa

Lurker
Oct 31, 2019
I'm new to Android and so far I like it. However, I just wonder where the Music app gets the songs from. I have uploaded 1,000+ songs to the SD card and they seem to be there in the Music app. But sometimes I notice that it will play a weird version of a song, like a live version or different mix, but one that I've never heard before. It occurred to me that it might be 'finding' this version on-line, rather than using locally stored files.

Essentially what I'd like it to do is ONLY to use locally stored mp3s, so that it's essentially an mp3 player and not a streaming device. I haven't been able to find any information about this.

Many thanks

Zwa

I'm new to Android and so far I like it. However, I just wonder where the Music app gets the songs from. I have uploaded 1,000+ songs to the SD card and they seem to be there in the Music app. But sometimes I notice that it will play a weird version of a song, like a live version or different mix, but one that I've never heard before. It occurred to me that it might be 'finding' this version on-line, rather than using locally stored files.

Essentially what I'd like it to do is ONLY to use locally stored mp3s, so that it's essentially an mp3 player and not a streaming device. I haven't been able to find any information about this.

Many thanks

Zwa

I would say it depends on the whatever it is "Music app" you're using, if it's something like Google Music, that is streaming on-line, with locally stored content optional.

I use mainly BlackPlayer EX or Fubar2000, and those can only play locally stored music files, NO streaming. So I know for sure I'm not going to be hearing any unexpected live versions, or strange mixes, or radio edits, etc.

Reactions: MoodyBlues
Upvote 0