1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root download cache limit (30M) problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Paul Kent, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. Paul Kent

    Paul Kent Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I have recently tried to download and install from the Android Market a couple of applications that were more than 35 M big. Unfortunately all my attempts were unsuccessful, even though I purchased the apps and they showed up in my Google account.
    The Android Customer Support wrote me this:

    "Thanks for writing in- I've taken a look at our records and have
    pinpointed the issue. Basically, the app you're trying to download is
    35M, but the download cache limit on your device is 30M. Therefore, you
    will not be able to download this app, or any apps larger than 30M.
    If
    you have any questions about download cache limits, please contact Samsung"

    My question: is there any chance to increase the cache limit. I presume I would have to have a super user privilege to do that (which I have), but Samsung Customer Support will assume I don't have it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    The issue is with the /cache partition - it's just too small. Since resizing it isn't exactly something we want to do, your best option is probably going to be to download the APK from somewhere else, then drop it on your SD card, and install it manually.
     
    Paul Kent likes this.
  3. Paul Kent

    Paul Kent Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    That's what I did, I was hoping for a better solution though. I've thought that maybe we could create a link on that partition to a new space on SD card.
     
  4. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Potentially, it is possible, if one were to unmount the cache partition and remount an SD card partition. You'd have to add an EXT4 partition to your SD card, and have a kernel that supports it (I wouldn't want to mess with RFS there). It's doable, but it's ugly, and many times slower. You're probably better off doing it manually.
     
    Paul Kent likes this.
  5. ciper

    ciper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    368
    83
    53
    I have an idea that could work. Unmount /cache and then symlink it to /data/fota . Its 80mb if I remember right and isnt used except for updates
     
  6. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Wouldn't work very well due to permissions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...