1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Epic stuck in landscape mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LPHC, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. LPHC

    LPHC Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Anyone else have this problem??
     

    Advertisement

  2. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #329
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Double-check that the "Auto-Rotate Screen" is still checked under Settings/Display. From a settings standpoint, that's the only thing I can think of. From that same screen, you can also try the horizontal calibration, in the (probably unlikely) event it's not set correctly.

    Beyond that, it could be a hardware or software defect on your device.
     
  3. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    I believe Auto-Rotate Screen option would eliminate landscape as an option, keeping the phone in portrait.

    Horizontal calibration is one pretty good option. If that doesn't work, you can try a reboot and/or battery pull. Otherwise you could try calibrating your compass...
     
  4. Maverickc5

    Maverickc5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    \

    I say " smack it " like your dad did to the TV to get a better signal :rolleyes:
     
  5. PC Jona

    PC Jona Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    181
    6
    36
    New York
    it is the horizontal calibration 100%

    lay it flat on a table or the floor and hit calibrate.

    dont try to get the bubble in the middle yourself
     
  6. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    395
    25
    43
    I had that happen with my Epic a few times, but it has been months. I don't recall it happening since the second Froyo update went out last spring.

    What firmware version are you running, out of curiosity?

    -SF
     
  7. LPHC

    LPHC Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I think my software is up to date, and I've tried the horizontal calibration thing... Looks like I'll have to keep it like this for awhile.
     
  8. LPHC

    LPHC Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Any other input? How would I go about doing a soft reset on the phone?
     
  9. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Pull the battery...

    OR press and hold the Power button, Camera button, and the Volume Up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...