• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

EVO vs iPhone 3GS - REVIEW

reemas

May 31, 2010
Yeah yeah, another one. I have taken a week to familiarize myself before posting some of my more common observations.

Note: This is just my opinion and I am no editor or writer.
(Oh and tl;dr!)

I’ve been using an iPhone for the last 2-3 years, and most of that time was spent with the iPhone 3GS. Since I primarily use Macs for my daily life, the iPhone was the most obvious choice for a long time.

The EVO is my first Android phone and the entire OS (2.1) is new to me. I’ve listed a few pros and cons and will briefly describe why.

iPhone 3Gs

Pros

Excellent Multi Touch
The iPhone 3GS, even years after its release, is by far the most responsive multi touch device on the market. I’m not sure why, given the insane amount of power in the EVO, it doesn’t even come close. Someone in these forums said it best, when they said it feels like the iPhone scrolls at 60 fps and the EVO at 12FPS. Regardless, when I scroll my address book on my iPhone, I can still make out the contacts due to the insanely smooth scrolling. Even better, the second I touch the screen, the scrolling stops, instantaneously. On the EVO there is a half second delay from when the scrolling starts and stops.

Easy To Use
Not going to say much here because this can ultimately be a con, due to lack of customization. But out of the box, the iPhone works, and is easy to use. I can see my parents using an iPhone but hardly see them putting up with an Android device.

Syncs flawlessly with Macs and iTunes
Obviously being a Mac user, this was incredibly huge to me.

Good Picture and Video Quality