1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Froyo (Android 2.2) for SGS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by paarun, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. paarun

    paarun Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    13
    0
    15

    Advertisement

  2. Geryatrix

    Geryatrix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    88
    12
    18
    It should be available from 12:00 Amsterdam time, but it's only a pre-release version.

    The official Samsung release is scheduled for September, and I for one will be waiting for that.
     
  3. Beards

    Beards Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,028
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    1,028
    371
    163
    Snr Consultant Surgeon
    Chesterfield UK
    Agree.... This is an early Beta version and there will be items missing/to be changed.

    As Geryatrix above says ~ Samsung will not be releasing the 'official Froyo' until late Aug/early Sep..... hopefully.

    However, given Samsung's track record in not getting fixes out at all or on time (GPS to name but one) I'm hesitant in believing a firm date is upon us.
     
  4. bobtodd

    bobtodd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    40
    6
    16
    I am fighting the urge not to download (it's available now, BTW). I've become a bit too flash-happy over the past few weeks.

    My sensible half tells me to wait until others have posted their experiences with Froyo alpha but my reckless half is beating him with a big stick.

    Oh, the agony
     
  5. Geryatrix

    Geryatrix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    88
    12
    18
    I think that you'll find that the version available at the moment is the one that is not complete.
     
  6. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Er, I believe I already posted this news a couple of ours before this...
     
  7. gibsonus

    gibsonus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    Use Skyfire for flash browsing. works for me

    the 2.2 beta has no flash btw
     
  8. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Flash does work, requires installing the 10.1 apk from the Market and then enabling the plug-in within the browser, users with a clue are now confirming this...
     
  9. ayrshiredude

    ayrshiredude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    167
    7
    36
    I have just upgraded to 2.1 jm2 so, as this 2.2 is incomplete and very much in beta I think I will just hang on a bit till something a bit better comes out.
     
  10. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    219
    5
    56
    Can anyone verify if this update has any effect on the GPS?
     
  11. mi04se1

    mi04se1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    251
    7
    56
    White Lake, MI
    I would never use a beta OS unless I was a tester.
     
  12. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    it is reported that gps is working better than in all other versions, but however, network location is not working at all yet....
     
  13. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    219
    5
    56
    Anyone who actually flashed the ROM Verify the Situation with GPS?
     
  14. Maca0716

    Maca0716 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    Would be nice, currently my Galaxy is useless as a satnav.
     
  15. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    just go to xda-developers.com forum and check the thread there, its around 50 pages long now...
     
  16. Maca0716

    Maca0716 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    16
    2
    16
    can you link the thread? i can't find it lol
     
  17. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
  18. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    219
    5
    56
    Thanks for the link, I searched through all 50 pages and found these quotes from the forum regarding XXJP2 GPS

    -I just saw that GPS in Maps was really bad
    -GPS is worse [​IMG]
    -GPS is still crap, but maybe a smiding faster than JP1
    -GPS: Fastest gps fix i've ever seen, near instant in both Navigon and GPS Test.

    So 1 person says the problem is fixed and 3 people say the problem is worse... I'm guessing it's little to no difference.
     
  19. grousey

    grousey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Do you need to be rooted to download this?
     
  20. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    no
    btw you can download anything without root...
    but you dotn eave
     
  21. grousey

    grousey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    7
    0
    5
     
  22. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009

    May 28, 2009
    114
    5
    36
    Fools! Why are people judging their GPS based upon time to fix? Even I can get a fix in 8 seconds. What's needed is a stable lock!
     
  23. Beards

    Beards Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,028
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    1,028
    371
    163
    Snr Consultant Surgeon
    Chesterfield UK
    Well I wouldn't go as far as using the word Fools Simon but I do agree wholeheartedly with you.

    It means absolutely nothing, zero, zilch when you get a lock more or less straightaway.
    As Simon says, it's when the signal (and for that it would be nice to see satellites with SNR's of lower than 20) follows you like a loving dog..... and not running off chasing a rabbit.
     
  24. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    219
    5
    56
    Agreed... I can get a lock in 20 seconds or so and if it was accurate and didn't drop out over and over, I would be happy...
     
  25. Evil Peter

    Evil Peter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    151
    11
    38
    Sweden
    For my part I have actually more problems getting the lock than sustaining it, although the "problem" just means that it usually takes far longer than 10 seconds to get the full lock, not that I can't get it at all. When I've gotten a good lock I stay at 5m accuracy the majority of the time, going up to 10m when it gets worse.
     

Share This Page

Loading...