1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GB Launcher App - best one?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NCTurner, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC
    Which one seems to be the most compatible with GB:

    Launcher Pro?
    Go Launcher EX?
    ADW Launcher EX?

    I just updated to GB, and would like to use whatever launcher works best with GB.
     

    Advertisement

  2. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    They all work fine with Gingerbread.

    They all offer a different feature set.

    Try them and see what works best for you. For me, I use LP. Swipe gestures and the widgets are what I want. Others value other features. I'd give all three a shot and see what you like best.
     
  3. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    Personally, I like the GB launcher itself.
     
  4. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    Try them all until you have the one you like most..

    I used ADW for awhile on GB, it worked just fine, but came back to the stock launcher eventually.
     
  5. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    they are all working just fine for me...however i keep coming back to Go launcher simply because of the app drawer. i absolutely LOVE the folders. even the Blur app launcher doesn't compare to the Go launcher drawer.

    it is still smooth scrolling, love being able to add screens quickly and easily. i dont need all the widgets LPP provides, and ADW just doesn't have anything the other 2 dont.
     
  6. PACAnesFan

    PACAnesFan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    It's all personal preference. Some work better than others on your particular phone. I wouldn't rule out the native Blur launcher either. In fact, that's what I am running today.
     
  7. Porpoise Hork

    Porpoise Hork Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    16
    3
    16
    had great success with ADW zero lag or glitches unlike moto blur..
     
  8. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    I much prefer ADW EX, however it had been having tons of redraws not only on GB but also on froyo. On GB pretty much all the launchers had a redraw issue. There is a script to fix this, and after applying the fix now the launchers do not redraw or lag.
     
  9. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    What is the script and where can it be found. First I've heard of this.
     
  10. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    782
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
    I keep coming back to LP+ for the widgets
     
  11. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    How do you add items to the Go Launcher Widget Folders?
     
  12. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    the folders aren't widgets...so not sure what you are talking about there...but when you open up the app drawer
    tap the menu button
    choose "new folder"
    name it whatever you want, and hit "finish"
    you will now have a blank folder in your app drawer. longpress an app icon to get the "wiggle" effect
    then just drag it to the folder.
    you can then add the folders you to home screen by dragging like ususal from the app drawer, or adding a shortcut to the folder from the home screens.

    in the end, you get something like this:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    eSmKe8r7i1c0a likes this.
  13. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    In GO, you can add Widget Folders to the Home Screens.
    Hold on the screen, then select from " Add to screen" the Folder object, then select "New Folder".
    But now that you have one, how do add content to it?

    OK, you just drag one of your other widgets to the folder. But it doesn't like some of the Widgets. I was trying to drag the Favorites Folder into the Go folder.
     
  14. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC
    Thanks all for the replies. I'm trying Go now. So far so good, although I'm having a problem with my gallery thumbnails (although that's for a different thread.)

    I like the native GB launcher, but I need more dock icons...I use those all the time, and 4 isn't enough.
     
  15. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    Do you have to uninstall GO to get back to the stock version? Is there another way?
     
  16. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC
    no, you can install Home Switcher to switch between the 2

    Once upon a time you could deleselect "default" from the manage applications, but that doesn't look like it's available now under GB? I assume that each time Go updates, you'll have the option of choosing which launcher to run, or select default for them, but not sure of that yet.
     
    nsa_sailor likes this.
  17. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
  18. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    Actually Home Switcher does show both Go and Home without the Moto Home Fixer.
     
    binary visions likes this.
  19. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    D'oh. Sorry. You're absolutely right.

    The Moto Home Fix causes the "default" option to show up if you either install a new launcher or clear your defaults for the launcher, then press the Home button. In other words, when NOT using Home Switcher, the home fix app lets you select the default home.
     
    nsa_sailor likes this.
  20. Kaleb Randleaxe

    Kaleb Randleaxe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    265
    36
    43
    Lifeguard / Lab Technician
    Michigan
    I've never been a fan of the stock launchers on my X. The scrolling animations were always choppy or just plain not smooth.

    I first bought LP, loved it, and then figured I'd give ADW EX a try. Loved that as well. Used ADW for most of the time I had my X. Just recently, I switched back to Launcher Pro.

    However, I flashed to Hateraid about a week ago to try it out, and it came packaged with GO Launcher. I fell in love. Using it still now, and don't see that changing soon really.
     
  21. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male

    Turdbogls gets credit for posting this in a thread I started last week. Here is what he posted there:


    redraws are usually NOT launcher specific. if it happens to one launcher, it will happen to the others as well.

    there is a fix tho. did this a while ago and haven't had a redraw since.
    using root explorer navigate to system
    mount r/o
    longpress on build.prop
    open in text editor
    scroll all the way to the bottom
    enter the following text:
    ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1

    press the hard back key and save the document
    mount system again
    reboot.

    basically what is happening is the launcher is an app, and it gets kicked out of memory when memory gets low (hence why it happens to all launchers)...this is b/c the launcher is at priority 6, which is pretty low. the above hack puts the priority at 1, so it is the last thing to get kicked out of memory by the built in memory manager.

    did this when i was on apex 2.0 (based on GB 591) when i was getting horrible lag coming out of pretty much ANY app. did the above hack, and haven't had a redraw in since then....so maybe 4 weeks or so. so amazing. even after using a heavy app like Plants vs zombies (thanks amazon appstore) it snapped right back to the launcher.
     
    eSmKe8r7i1c0a, nj02vette and JB in AZ like this.
  22. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    +1

    i swore by LPP over Froyo - however, I've stuck with the stock launcher on GB..
     
  23. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Thanks for this. I was getting some redraws. I made the change and will see how it goes. :)
     
  24. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male

    No worries. Like I said, I can't take credit for this script fix, but it DID work wonders on my phone. Zero redraws on any of the launchers I use. I do much prefer ADW EX, so that is what I am using now. I have Mr Home also, but have it frozen with Tibu at this point. Mr. Home is a a decent, free, ADW EX knockoff, but not as good as ADW. Anyway, hopefully this fix works for you.
     
  25. Torrid

    Torrid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #474
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    355
    59
    53
    With Go Launcher can you customize your dock? Right now, I'm using LP+, but I'm always curious about other launchers just to see what's out there...

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...