1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Google search replaced with *

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Grouchy187, May 2, 2011.

  1. Grouchy187

    Grouchy187 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Whenever I type a search in on google through my phone, it shows up as *s rather then what I type, as if I was typing a password. Any idea how to fix this? thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. project.in.process

    project.in.process Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    193
    23
    38
    Production Engineer
    Charlotte, NC
    are you rooted?
    did you recently install any keyboards?

    try clearing the keyboard cache or Data

    stock keyboard===home screen>menu>applications>manage applications>Running>Touch Input

    swype===home screen>menu>applications>manage applications>downloaded>Swype
     
  3. mattdeasay

    mattdeasay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    27
    3
    16
    Baltimore
    I experienced the same thing today. My phone is stock and unrooted.
     
  4. HenryKrinkle

    HenryKrinkle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    138
    30
    43
    Same here. Unrooted and stock. Only happens with Google.
     
  5. irony

    irony Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    15
    18
    18
    I had this happen to me Also. The dirty fix seems to be run that Google search page in classic mode.
     
  6. Grouchy187

    Grouchy187 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    like the others have said, unrooted and it just randomly happened.
     
  7. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Update: This is a Google mobile issue, they are working on it and last I heard it seems to be fixed. It is actually happening across all devices. Just for a little FYI, how something is typed into a field (i.e. if it is plain text or treated like a password field) is handled by the website.
     
  8. HookEmHorns*UT*

    HookEmHorns*UT* Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    237
    25
    43
    Industrial HVAC (Water Cooled)
    ATL, GA
    I have this happening also. It just started today and it is very annoying. I am not rooted.
     
  9. ncwildcat

    ncwildcat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    87
    8
    16
    as of 5 minutes ago its still not fixed...so I just search from the address bar
     
  10. namx

    namx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    glad to see this is not only my phone. did anyone notice that when you turn instant on, you get too search boxes that does the same thing (puts in the ***)
     
  11. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    F*CK! :mad:

    I wish I would have read this earilier..

    I thought it was an issue with my phone, so I cleared all cache's, wiped data, re-flashed multiple ROM's trying to fix it..

    As of right now, I lost everything in Titanium Backup and my backed up ROM is no more, so Im going to have to manually download all my apps again and re-install BAMF 1.6 w/ de-Sense..

    There goes my night..
     
  12. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    I saw this on the Android central forums. Change the homepage from the Google Android default homepage to just google.com & reboot the browser. You may have to do a force close on it or open a new window to get it to take affect.
     
  13. jacko1

    jacko1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    284
    14
    38
    go into google homepage 2 click on settings in the bottom 3 click off on query suggestions 4 save settings 5 add that as home page 6 enjoy
    First clear data in browser
    I posted that on xda
     

Share This Page

Loading...