1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS Fix?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luke318is, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    Hi there. I really like my new SGS2

    The only problem is the GPS. It is far inferior to the gps i had in the Sony Xperia X10 i had before.

    My friend had a Galaxy Captivate and it had similar problems but someone told him he could make it look for better GPS satellites

    Does anyone know how to improve the gps? i need it for work
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,626
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,626
    5,840
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Try this...

    Settings > Location and security > ensure the the 3 boxes under My location are ticked.

    Now download and install, free from the Market, GPS Status.

    Remove the sim card from your phone and reboot it.

    Open GPS Status (preferably outdoors with a clear view of the sky) and select Menu > Tools > Manage A-GPS state > Reset

    Now select Menu > Tools > Manage A-GPS state > Download

    Now just leave it for as long as it takes to get a solid lock on at least 6 Sat's (preferably more... 9->11 would be good). This can take 20 min's or more but be patient,

    When you have achieved this then select GPS Status Menu > Settings > GPS & Sensors > Auto-download AGPS data > choose how often you would like the data to be updated (1 hour -> 3 days... I have mine set for 6 hours) > tick the 3 boxes (GPS required/Lock to GPS speed/Filter the GPS speed, if required) and choose your Sensor filtering.

    Now power off your phone and replace Sim card and reboot.

    N.B. Please ensure you have no Task Managers or anything that will close or interfere with this app.

    Once rebooted you should find an improvement in accuracy and speed of your GPS.

    Hope this helps you. :D
     
  3. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    You sir are a god. Thanks for this advice. If all forums had helpful people like you, then all forums would be.........better!
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,626
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,626
    5,840
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    :D:D:D

    Nice to be appreciated and glad to be of help.
     
  5. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    It seems to have helped except for one thing. when you said.to take out sim card, at the stage when you need to click on download gps data, download is greyed out because there is no sim and no data connection. so i just ended up putting the sim card back in at that stage.
     
  6. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,626
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,626
    5,840
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Sorry... did you not have a WiFi connection at the time.

    Do apologise for not mentioning in my haste. :(
     
  7. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    Ah i see. ya i could probably get wifi and do it in my back alley, is it important to have the sim card removed for the whole process?
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,626
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,626
    5,840
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    It forces the phone to use GPS and AGPS without tower triangulation... in theory you could just set it to Airplane mode.

    It only needs to be done this way on the initial set-up, GPS Status can then be used normally with a GPS signal after that... should have made myself clearer... sorry luke318is. :eek:
     
  9. hidehide

    hidehide Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Hi, I have problem with the A-GPS.. It seems I can't locate myself when I'm at indoor.. Which should mainly be using A-GPS since I don't see a clear sky..

    So I tried to turn off GPS, while leaving the two options on the Location settings "on", but Maps doesn't seem to find my location.. So I guess my A-GPS isn't working..

    I can get my location on a clear sky, which should be using GPS..

    Is there any way to fix the A-GPS? I tried to reset A-GPS cache in the GPS Status, unfortunately, it didn't help...
     
  10. diggy123

    diggy123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hey!

    What method (if any) do you use to speed up your GPS fix? I just got my S2 and it took forever to fix a GPS signal. Then I grabbed GPS Status & Toolbox from market and reseted A-GPS state.

    But still, it takes minutes to grab that lock on GPS. Is there anything else I can do? Coming from a Nokia N82 which only took about 2-3 secs to lock GPS, this is a bit annoying right now....

    I need GPS often using sports tracking apps and navigation.
     
  11. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    I'm curious your phone is from a local carrier or purchased somewhere else and shipped you you? I'm speculating carriers pre-populate preferred GPS satellites for quicker lock. Can someone confirm if this is correct assumption?
     
  12. diggy123

    diggy123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Mine is from a carrie here in Estonia...
     
  13. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    After your first lock which can take a while, it should lock on in less than 30 seconds if you are outside and have a clear view of the sky. You device should remember which sats to look for after the initial lock.
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,626
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,626
    5,840
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    To speed up and increase the accuracy of your GPS... see this post:-

    http://androidforums.com/2918122-post88.html

    Hope it helps. :D
     
  15. htjiawi

    htjiawi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have similar issue on SG2 with android 2.3.4; tried updating modem driver and various version of android with no luck. After many trial and errors, I enable AGPS from settings -> location and security -> check options for "use wireless networks", "use GPS satellites" and "use sensor aiding", OsmAnd navigation app is able to find location within few seconds with help of AGPS but in accurate few kilometer away. I finally switch mobile network to "GSM only" and seems to fix issue. I can now find location within few seconds accurately, hope this help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...