1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support GPS Kaputt

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Uri Stamonov, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. Uri Stamonov

    Uri Stamonov Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    40
    3
    16
    Hey all

    I'm just wondering if anyone out there might have a tip or trick to help me out.

    A few months ago my GPS started being a bit "flaky"...taking a long time to pick up, innacurate, telling me I had cycled 900 miles in 2 hours in sports tracking apps, that sort of thing.

    I sent the handset back to 3 UK for repair as it also had a fault with the volume button, and asked them to look into the GPS problems.

    Got the handset back now and have been playing with a few things such as rooting, other radios and ROMs, but the GPS has now completely given up the ghost.

    I can't get a lock in any app, such as:

    Google maps / navigation
    Route 66 (Highly recommended)
    GPS Status
    Endomondo Pro

    FYI I'm back to running the stock 2.3.3 ROM (2.50.405.2) with Radio 12.54.60.25U_26.09.04.11_M2.

    Any ideas, or am I going to have to send it back again?

    Thanks!

    Uri
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Hi Uri!

    I'm sure there is something on here... just having a look and will come back with a link ASAP...
     
  4. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I've seen something else, that's a software fix, rather than a hardware one... still looking!!
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Disassemble using the video, pop out the cover that houses the flash LEDs and either give them a clean or see if you can pull them out a little to make better contact with the circuits underneath.

    I think that's what's in the first XDA link, but XDA appears down at the moment.
     
    Uri Stamonov likes this.
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
  7. Uri Stamonov

    Uri Stamonov Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    40
    3
    16
    Dudes!

    Absolutely awesome, thanks for the help!

    Followed El Presidente's link, popped off the cover, prised up the terminals..and VOILA!

    Indoor fix to 7 sats in about 10 seconds.

    Job done!

    Super duper, thanks everyone :D

    Uri
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Great - good to know... I'll leave looking for the other link I used.

    Glad you're sorted!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...