1. Check out our app, Forums for Android! Download and leave feedback here!

[Guide]How to flash a Nexus Factory Image manually.

Discussion in 'Android System Mods, Scripts and Hacks' started by jhawkkw, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    There is an off chance, however unlikely, that something was corrupted in the download/unzipping. You might need to re-download the files.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rachid

    rachid Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    that's what I thought, I deleted all the downloads and did it anew, but I'm confronted with a new problem, am not able to extract the factory image to sdk-tools folder, it doesn't give me the zipped system file and the bootloader and radio like the first time, but stays just in one single file.
    I used the same link from developers.google.com
    this is the sdk folder.
    adb
    adb-linux
    adb-mac
    adbWinapi.dll
    adbWinUsbapi.dll
    fastboot
    fastboot-linux
    fastboot-mac
    md5sums
    Occam-kot49h-factory-02e344de
    sdk.sh
    version
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Can you post the link you are using?
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's not a zip file, it's a gzip tarball. Not quite exactly the same thing, but similar. did you try the instructions on the download page?

     
  5. rachid

    rachid Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    I'm using WinRAR to decompress and extract. it's never been that difficult.
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You are using 4.2.2 (JDQ39)?

    (downloading now, going to give it a look-see)
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Looks okay to me ...
     

    Attached Files:

    rachid likes this.
  8. rachid

    rachid Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    am using 4.4.2 kot49h on nexus 4.
    but I extracted it, changed usb port, usb cable still same outcome "failed to load file"
    I am taking a break for a couple hours , I'm saturated right now.
     
  9. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    633

    May 2, 2012
    4,467
    3,099
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    I use 7-zip for extracting tarballs on Windows

    EDIT: Are you attempting to downgrade or something?
     
    rachid likes this.
  10. rachid

    rachid Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    as I said in my first post I was trying to fix a problem with proximity sensor, by flashing an image of stock firmware, but at this point , it won't matter to downgrade as long as getting my phone up and running.
     
  11. rachid

    rachid Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    YEY!!! I GOT IT.
    Finally my phone is working again, I had to extract the factory image, open it and copy the files to sdk-tools folder with fastboot...etc.
    special thanks to palmtree and lunatic foe your support, and everyone who contributed to this thread. keep up the good job.
     
    palmtree5 and lunatic59 like this.
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's great news!
     
  13. coldcrow

    coldcrow Active Member
    16

    Dec 5, 2012
    28
    1
    16
    Male
    Stocker
    Ignore this post, I figured it out myself.
     
  14. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    Hi,

    first of all many thanks for this tuto !.

    I try to follow the step but I have an issue with the step 9

    what is the name of my bootloader ?

    Many thnaks for your return,

    Regards,

    Denis
     
  15. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hi Denis.

    Your bootloader will depend on which Nexus device you own. If you downloaded the correct archive and extracted them you should see a file called something like "bootloader-mako-??????.img". That's your bootloader file.
     
  16. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    Hummm thanks for your fast reply but I don't download this archive.

    On your step lines you not mention that :/

    I Have a Nexus 4

    And the product name is MAKO
    Bootloader version - MAKOZ30d
     
  17. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    Ahh or maybe you mention that : occam-krt16s-factory-2006f418.tgz ??

    It's the factory image for the Nexus 4
     
  18. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    So I follow all your steps but now when I reboot my Nexus 4 I have the logo with the four colors and nothing happens...

    I'm waiting for 10min now... :(
     
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That would indicate you have firmware version 4.4.x

    Can you tell the exact version?
     
  20. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    I don't know the exact version because when I try to switch on the phone I have always the logo animation with the four colors... :/

    I Think the phone have the version 4.4.3
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    As far as I know, 4.4.2 is the latest version of the Nexus 4.

    Before reflashing the firmware, have you tried a factory reset?
     
  22. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    Yes I try to do a factory reset but same thing :/

    Maybe I need to try to put an old version like the 4.3 ?
     
  23. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    4,138

    Jun 12, 2010
    31,635
    25,601
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
  24. den75

    den75 Member
    5

    May 23, 2014
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Paris
    So I need to do all the tuto ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...