1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to install "recovery-clockwork-touch-5.8.3.1-ms840.img"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zandersig, May 14, 2013.

  1. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Hey guys, I bought the Touch Recovery option in ROM Manager and then I had to get my connect replaced but now ROM Manager is wanting me to pay again for the Touch option!
    I have emailed the developer 3 times and I have got no response. So I went on his website and downloaded this file (recovery-clockwork-touch-5.8.3.1-ms840.img) for the connect but what am I supposed to do with it? I can't find any answers to this question, I already have cwm installed but how do I add the Touch feature back? I'm not paying for it twice.
    Thanks for any help that someone can give me. You will be the man!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Sit tight, and you're welcome in advance LOL
     
    zandersig likes this.
  3. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Man that was fast!
     
  4. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
  5. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Sweet, thanks man!
     
  6. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    What I have done in the past was download clockwork touch from the site for free, then I would take the all in one root and clockwork mod; and replace the clockwork image in the AiO with Clockwork Touch. Of course I would rename the Clockwork Touch image to what ever the image's name was in the AiO. That always worked for me.
     
  7. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Well the package from up above is supposed to have the Touch feature. I looked in the .zip file and the .img file is the same as the Touch .img file that I have from the cwm website.
     
  8. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    It does. You have to plug your phone into a PC and run the AIO-LGConnect file inside the main folder, it will flash that file for you.
     
  9. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Well I ran the script, selected option 3 and here is the log...


    "ClockWorkMod Touch Recovery for LG Connect
    Script by ChiweN
    ClockWorkMod Touch ported by Shabbypenguin
    Root exploit by djrbliss



    ClockWorkMod Touch for LG Connect
    Press any key to continue . . .
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    Phone Found.
    Pushing ClockWorkMod Touch to phone
    1917 KB/s (5758976 bytes in 2.932s)
    Restarting Phone
    Waiting for phone to restart
    ClockWorkMod Touch pushed to phone.
    Restarting Phone
    Waiting for phone to restart
    Installing ClockWorkMod Touch
    remount succeeded
    rm failed for /system/recovery-from-boot.p, No such file or directory
    1406+0 records in
    1406+0 records out
    5758976 bytes transferred in 3.085 secs (1866766 bytes/sec)
    Finishing Up.
    ClockWorkMod Touch Installed!
    Hit Enter key to Return to Option Menu
    Press any key to continue . . ."


    Even with the error "rm failed for /system/recovery-from-boot.p, No such file or directory" I now have CWM with Touch Recovery on vv3! Cool!

    So I now have an LG Connect with vv3, rooted, debloated, CWM with touch recovery and have Black Plaques Kernel running on it also. All I need now is the SmoothScroll MOD for vv3 and I should have a pretty cool LG Connect (Again).... ;)
     
  10. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA

    Well I am back to installing the Touch Feature for CWM and it seems to install but this is the errors I get now.... grrrrrrrr

    "ClockWorkMod Touch Recovery for LG Connect
    Script by ChiweN
    ClockWorkMod Touch ported by Shabbypenguin
    Root exploit by djrbliss



    ClockWorkMod Touch for LG Connect
    Press any key to continue . . .
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    Phone Found.
    Pushing ClockWorkMod Touch to phone
    3055 KB/s (5758976 bytes in 1.840s)
    Restarting Phone
    Waiting for phone to restart
    ClockWorkMod Touch pushed to phone.
    Restarting Phone
    Waiting for phone to restart
    Installing ClockWorkMod Touch
    remount succeeded
    rm failed for /system/etc/install-recovery.sh, No such file or directory
    rm failed for /system/recovery-from-boot.p, No such file or directory

    1406+0 records in
    1406+0 records out
    5758976 bytes transferred in 1.708 secs (3371765 bytes/sec)
    Finishing Up.
    ClockWorkMod Touch Installed!
    Hit Enter key to Return to Option Menu
    Press any key to continue . . ."


    I just don't think this stuff works for vv3 anymore... I GIVE UP!
     
  11. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    151
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    The reason this fails, is because your phone is not in debug mode. Go to Settings > Applications > Development and make sure the check box for USB debugging is marked. Next, when you plug your phone to pc, pull down notification, press on USB connected and choose "Internet Connection" and press done. You should now see the debugging icon on status bar and adb commands will now work. Now run the root/cwm script.
     
  12. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Nope, I'm in debug mode and I have my phone set to internet connection.
     
  13. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    151
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    well, guess your phone is possessed by demons, only thing that's gonna save it now, is an exorcism :)

    seriously, i don't have a clue what's going on.
     
  14. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Ohhh but it does my friend i used it on vv3 i just used pgs instuctions for the terminal on the phone let me see if i can dig them up
     
  15. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Here it is
     
    zandersig likes this.
  16. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    @jlede Will it install a new superuser and busybox? I've already got those installed. I use SuperSU and Jrummy BusyBox installer.

    If I do it from the pc will it give me the option of just installing the new cwm or do I have to install it all? What if I take out the superuser and busybox from the folder, would it just install the updated cwm? I had someone tell me that my sd card needs to be formatted in ext instead of fat 32?
     
  17. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    What's a good terminal app to use? Can you give me detailed directions? I'm sorta noobish with terminal stuff. :(
     
  18. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    @Jlede

    Is this " Quote:

    Originally Postedby PlayfulGod Just the img file: cwm 6.0.1.1 recovery.img

    Updated Root & CWM Installer zip: CWM-Installer-LG-Connect-4G.zip

    Manual Install:

    Copy cwmrecovery.img to your sdcard From terminal emulator on the phone type the following: Code:

    su

    Code:

    dd if=/sdcard/cwmrecovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 bs=

    Here it is"

    Is the zip file that you told me to download from here http://androidforums.com/5851378-post9.html. ? The same as the one up above?
     
  19. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Hey, I tried it on my Android in a terminal app and I get this.....
    See pic.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    151
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    Should be:

    dd if=/sdcard/cwmrecovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 bs=4096
     
    zandersig likes this.
  21. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Yea i looked at yesterday and i was like whoops forgot something
     
    zandersig likes this.
  22. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Hey, well I put on cwm 6.0.1.1 and formatted the sd card from inside CWM and then when I am doing the Wiping data/factory reset option I get this error "E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk1p4" still...

    I have no idea what is wrong, this is F'ed up!!!! It's amazing that I can not do a factory reset without an error. It must have something to do with this stupid vv3 baseband. I think I am giving up. I can't get any help from the people at ROM Manager or the guy that wrote CWM. I am sure they could tell me what the problem is..... but I imagine that they have quit messing with this phone just like everyone else has.
     
  23. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    I wonder if someone sent me this file "mmcblk1p4" and I put it in here /dev/block/ would that solve my problem?
     
  24. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Did u try the easiest way to solve this problem unbrick back to stock vv3 and running Miami's zip again try that and report back
     
    zandersig likes this.
  25. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Yea, everytime I try his zip file I get a bootloop. Something is wrong with his .zip I think. This is what I did last night http://androidforums.com/5857726-post16.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...