1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC Sync not connecting to phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnnyDiesel, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. JohnnyDiesel

    JohnnyDiesel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    I have just installed HTC Sync 2.0.18 on both my computers and none of them will recognize my phone when I connect it. One of the computers is a Dell Inspiron 9400 running Vista and the other is a MacBook Pro running Windows 7 under VMWare Fusion 3.0.2.
    HTC Sync 2.0.18 should work in Windows 7 and definitely under Vista so I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. On both computers I'm running AVG Antivirus 9.0 Free, on which I disabled resident shield during installations, as recommended. Any ideas anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ziani

    Ziani Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    836
    92
    98
    Norfolk, UK
    Have you checked box for USB debugging on your phone menu>settings>applications>development
     
  3. tgulch22

    tgulch22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    343
    15
    38
    Paramedic
    Perrysburg, OH
    I am having the same issue with my droid eris and htc sync on my windows 7 machine.

    I have htc sync installed on an XP machine and it syncs just fine, but my phone says it cannot find the HTC Sync on my Windows 7 computer. Also the Windows 7 computer says it cannot find/install the drivers for the phone. I can mount and access the SD card on both machines so this is limited to the syncing...thanks
     
  4. Ziani

    Ziani Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    836
    92
    98
    Norfolk, UK
    Just a thought....if you use a task killer have you killed PC Sync on phone? Have you tried booting the phone and trying again? Just ideas
     
  5. zaffy

    zaffy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    37
    1
    16
    Retired Computer Tech
    Norfolk, UK
    Sync a Hero to Windows 7:

    1. Open Control Panel / Devices and Printers

    2. Right click the 'Android Phone' and select properties

    3. Click on the hardware tab

    4. Probably be listed as 'HTC Dream composite interface' or similar.

    5. Highlight this entry and click on properties.

    6. In the properties dialogue box under the general tab at the bottom click 'change settings'.

    7. When the dialogue box reappears click on the 'Driver' tab.

    8. Select the 'Update Driver' option.

    9. On the first screen select the second option 'Browse my computer for driver software'.

    10. In the next screen select the second option 'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'.

    11. You should then be faced with 2 options on the next screen under Model, either 'HTC Dream Composite ADB Interface' or 'My HTC'.

    12. Select 'My HTC' and that will install the correct drivers and then you should be good to go.
     
  6. tgulch22

    tgulch22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    343
    15
    38
    Paramedic
    Perrysburg, OH
    I will try that and let you know...thanks BTW I have a Droid Eris not a Hero, but I figured they were close enough for this issue, and this was the only Winders 7 threads I could find about this particular problem when i searched.
     
  7. tgulch22

    tgulch22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    343
    15
    38
    Paramedic
    Perrysburg, OH
    Got it to work. Had to search and download the Vista 64 drivers for my eris. Put them in the htc driver folder and reinstall HTC sync. Worked great after that.
     
  8. DucatiDude

    DucatiDude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    I'm trying to sync my evo using VMWare Fusion and Windows 7 with no luck. Everything seems to install but the phone is not recognized. Any suggestions? Thanks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...