1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [International] Just have to say this

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Marc1969, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    Totally inappropriate thread, I know, but I just want to say it anyway:

    Because I lost my S2 while enjoying one (OK, maybe two :D) beer to many at a concert, I've been away from these forums for a while (been hanging around the A**le groupies :eek:). Lovely to see that most of the regulars I met in the S2 forums (ironass, Sidney99, Hawker to name but a few) are here, doing their usual 'thing' and also helping a lot of other users. I've been reading through a couple of the threads here and it feels like coming home ;)

    The friendly bantering is the sole reason I chose the S4 over the HTC One and the Sony Experia Z :rolleyes:

    It arrives tomorrow :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Yes I felt like I'd come home when I got my SGS4 :) welcome back!

    When you get it, and if you decide to root I hope it has an older firmware without the locked bootloader. I'm sure Ironass' guide will help.
     
  3. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Wise choice, it's streets ahead of the s2 and those overpriced Apple thingies
     
  4. sntaylor

    sntaylor Android Expert
    Rank:
     #127
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,704
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    1,704
    717
    213
    Male
    Ayrshire, scotland
    Welcome back :) it's maybe worth thinking about rooting before you get it, then you can avoid any ota updates with locked boot loaders like dyno says :)
     
  5. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    O, there's no mistake there: it WILL be rooted the first time I connect it to my laptop! I've been reading through ironass's guide(s), and I think I shouldn't have too much trouble.

    But then again, if I run into any trouble I'm sure I will find enough help here :D
     
  6. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    I was lucky enough to get one without the locked bootloader. So thanks to ironass's guide it's rooted and running DjeMBeY's rom :D

    I'm looking for some mods now, most important the 'back to kill' I used to have on my S2. Anybody know if it's out there for my i9505 somewhere?
     
  7. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    it's part of 3minit framework, which is well worth flashing to ur phone

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2276611
     
    Marc1969 likes this.
  8. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K

    Try the 3minit framework and app. It makes JKay look limited.
     
    Marc1969 likes this.
  9. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
  10. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    I'm looking into that right now (Google can find some amazing things, really a recommendable site! ;) ). Which version should I download if I have flashed Djembey's flashable zip? If I read correctly, it's MH8 and I cannot find that one in the downloads on XDA...
     
  11. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    The latest framework is MH1 I believe. You could do a Nandroid and try it. I would wait myself. Also is Djembey's MH8 deodexed? If not any version of 3minit won't work. Seriously borked my SGS4 making that mistake.
     
  12. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    It is DeOdexed, or so it says in the summary ironass posted here. I think I'll wait for MH8 to appear. I see a lot more discussion about it on XDA
     
  13. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    I have read, but not tested myself!! that MH1 framework does work on MH8
     
  14. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    I came across some mentions of that too. Something about the sound settings not working. Tempted to give it a try tonight. I'll let you know.
     
    Sydney99 likes this.
  15. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    Hmmm, that didn't work as I thought it would... Flashed the framework, reboot phone and... nothing. Just the Sammy logo for a VERY long time... :(

    Lucky for me I was able to reboot into recovery mode and reflash Djembey's rom. I'll wait for the MH8 framework :eek:
     
    dynomot and Sydney99 like this.
  16. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    MGG framework should work on MH8.
     
    Marc1969 likes this.
  17. Marc1969

    Marc1969 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    98
    8
    36
    Male
    Oosterhout (NL)
    And as usual, ironass comes to save the day ;) Looks like MGG does the trick! Thanks!
     
  18. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    904
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Don't tell him........




    but he knows his stuff
     

Share This Page

Loading...