• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Is Lollipop Coming to Verizon Moto X?

Hi Folks,

When Lollipop was in the works of being released, I read from several sources that it would be pushed as an OTA update to Verizon Moto X (1st Gen) users. I've yet to see an update. I'm still on 4.4.4. Has there been any info released on an ETA? Does it make a difference that I'm a prepaid customer and bought the phone outright? I'm new to Verizon.

Overall I'm very happy with my phone on it's current software. I've had it ~6 months but I'm just a geek looking forward to playing with the new Android. :D

Thanks,
Dan

Motorola and Verizon will not promise an ETA. It will be pushed when it's ready, but I cannot think of a Motorola phone that had an update that didn't have a "soak test" first, and news of those - though they are supposed to be confidential - always leaks. When you see news of the soak test, it's likely that the X will be getting Lollipop within a couple of weeks.

Reactions: Big Poppa
Upvote 0
The X is going to 5.0.2 this time around. That's what's pushing/soaking right now. 5.1 may be down the line but won't be right away.
I believe Luciano ;)
uploadfromtaptalk1426986111663.jpg

Reactions: Big Poppa
Upvote 0
Hot off the presses at G+:

David Schuster
Shared publicly - 9:55 AM
#Lollipop

As some of you might know, we've been testing Lollipop 5.0.2 upgrades on Moto X (1st Gen), Moto E (1st Gen) and Moto G with 4G LTE (1st Gen) in several regions. In parallel we have started testing Lollipop 5.1 which was recently released by Google. Given the improvements in Lollipop 5.1, we have decided to move all efforts to upgrade these devices directly from KitKat to Lollipop 5.1.

Upvote 0
For a better source than 9to5mac, David Schuster of Motorola posted an update about this on Google+ last week: https://plus.google.com/+DavidSchuster/posts/Qci9XjXBe9L