• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [MetroPCS/CDMA] flashed roms-benchmark

mazillion

Dec 1, 2012
(introduction-preface-unreleated thing)
((okay so i am pretty new to all this android stuff, i recently got an upgrade and i'm the type of person to go all out on the customizing phones and stuff. (i would go crazy with jailbreaks on iphones back when) i have been browsing these forums for a couple weeks now getting valuable information from you guys (and google). just want to say thanks to everybody on these forums, when i first got my phone all i could find were things root-related for the S3 on other carriers. i was afraid the S3 metro pcs didn't really have much modding support, i'm glad i was wrong.))

anyway onto the topic, so i installed cm10 yesterday and have been playing around with it. i love it, no (major) bugs, and everything runs so fast. (might have to do some tweaks for better battery life though). I did a quadrant benchmark before and after.
Before: Toal:5019 CPU:8355 Mem:7388 I/O:6122 2D:1000 3D:2231
After:Total:4474 CPU:5558 Mem:10019 I/O:3692 2D:990 3D:2113

i was like :thinking: because project butter lead me to believe preformace had increased. I messed around with CPU governors but sadly the some of the governors only brought the scores as low as 3,000 something.

i know the total scores aren't that far apart, only because the memory shot up a good bit 7300 to 10000. I supposed that's due to the fact that CM10 seems to use a lot less ram. But i don't really care about RAM, 2GB is a lot for a moblie phone and i am the type of person to obsessively close all apps in the task manager. i like to get my phone running as fast as possible even though it might not even make a huge difference.

-I was thinking about trying out blackbean (AOKP doesn't appeal to me for some reason but i'll try it out if i can get better performance). will blackbean give better performance?