1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root My installation of Epic 2.5 seems to have ruined my phone permanently?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mfunk9786, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. mfunk9786

    mfunk9786 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am really hoping I can get some help.

    I completely understand that this is my fault and I rooted my phone, I took all these steps, and it's not the ROM's fault. I get that going in. I am not looking for lectures.

    I am a total n00b to the world of rooting my phone (I used z4 and was able to do a lot of other things one can only do when their phone is rooted, so I felt pretty secure). I was enjoying it quite a bit until I decided to install a ROM. I have a Droid 2 and I used the Bootstrap app along with Rom Manager to backup my phone, bootstrap, mount the /system folder, and install the Epic ROM. Everything seemed to be going just fine until the reboot after the install - I am stuck on the opening 'splash' screen (with the spotlight over the EPIC logo) of the Epic ROM and it doesn't go any further.

    Making matters worse, when I do a battery pull and hold X and Power, I am brought into the default Android recovery, not the Clockwork recovery. I have no access to my backup, and when I try to do a factory restore from there, it does not complete it successfully. When I try to installl from update.zip (which is the only option it gives me) I am told it cannot access it.

    I am trying to just get my phone back to usable condition at this point, is there anything I can do or am I a completely lost cause? I am really freaking out - I realized I could cause problems by rooting, but now I don't know how to get my phone back at all... is it just a brick now, or is there some kind of fix to get back to a usable condition?

    Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
    Turn the phone on, do a battery pull as soon as you get past the Moto logo then turn it on again. See if that gets you into bootstrap. If that doesn't work, you need to SBF. There are instructions on how to do that else ware on these forums.
     
  3. obutto

    obutto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    307
    14
    38
    Had the same problem. Just SBF; make sure you got enough battery.
     
  4. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    Yes, SBF - it happens to the best of us.
    And I am the best
     
  5. Matt4542

    Matt4542 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    52
    11
    18
    I'm sorry to hear this. Looks like you are going to need to sbf :( I'm sorry!
     

Share This Page

Loading...