• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

My Thoughts on the Samsung Galaxy Player

exactly sideman, but if you need to make a call and don't have a wi fi connection (which is often the case) is does you no good as a phone. i agree that it sure beats having a two year contract, and the talkatone app works great!

you see i am a landscaper and i am in rural comunituies most of the day and about 90 percent of the time do not have a wifi connection, so to me business wise as a phone the sgp is almost worthless (that is why i have my cell phone) but this thing is a great and powerful device and as i said the phone app is great and a good idea to use when you have a wi fi connection.

Upvote 0
Agreed. I have a plain vanilla cell phone for the times I'm away from WiFi...the cheapest one I could get from Verizon. The SGP covers all my other needs quite well...like navigation, gaming, inventory, tracking stocks, note taking, and so on. I look at it as much more than a toy. It's a real PDA.

The SGP is so versatile that it can be anything you need it to be. Now if only Samsung would realize how great it is...and do some good marketing...instead of relying on word of mouth.

Upvote 0
I agree about wishing Samsung would wake up and do a better job promoting this wonderful device. Unfortunately, as far as the tech press is concerned, if it doesn't have a cell radio, it's a media player. :rolleyes: I do serious work on mine.