1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

PC36IMG.zip won't install

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheXtreme76, Apr 14, 2012.

1. TheXtreme76

TheXtreme76 Lurker

I've been trying to install PC36IMG.zip to my phone so as to unroot it. It loads, checks the file but then just goes back to the normal hboot menu. I'm kinda new at this, but my impression from XDA was that it should automatically take me to instructions for installing the zip file. Am I wrong in this?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. frenchy714

frenchy714 Android Expert

Welcome to AF!!! Make sure the PC36IMG.zip file is in the root directory of your sd card (topmost level and not in any folders), and named exactly how it is above. Windows typically hides extensions so it's possible you've renamed the file to PC36IMG.zip.zip. If you believe you've done everything correctly thus far, power off, then back on while holding volume down (this takes you to hboot), and your Evo will automatically scan for the PC36IMG.zip file. If the file is named correctly and in the right place, your Evo will ask you if you'd like to update. Say "yes" and you should be gtg.

ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood

Welcome to the forums!

Try this RUU file. Its a program you run from your computer.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/63060876/RU....15.00.0808_NV_2.15_release_209995_signed.exe

I've had the same problem as you in the past where the PC36IMG file wouldnt take, but the RUU worked like a charm.

ocnbrze and frenchy714 like this.
  4. TheXtreme76

TheXtreme76 Lurker

The location is correct, I also checked the name to make sure and it seems to all be correct. I don't know why it doesn't work.

5. frenchy714

Try the RUU file Rxpert referenced above and let us know how it goes.

ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  6. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood