1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Problems logging in to school network

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Patney, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. Patney

    Patney Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    I've been trying to log in to my school network on my Desire, but to no success. On my computer I have to input a username and password to use the net. This only works with IE and not Chrome, for some reason. I want to log in with my phone browser, but I always get a message saying that I need to install java and Cisco applets or something.

    is there any way to log on my school network using my phone, or am I doomed?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    doomed. Sorry
     
  3. chris 290

    chris 290 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    280
    44
    43
    Lot of schools use static IP addresses and you can't log onto them using your phone, at least that is what I was told by the it bod I spoke to at the school I work at.
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,539
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,539
    11,883
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Your school's IT department sucks.

    Until your school's IT department sees the light about that nasty thing called IE you're doomed.
     
  5. bearsfan85

    bearsfan85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    459
    97
    53
    Microsoft Student Rep
    Urbana
    try spoofing your user agent
     
  6. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    I'm sorry but that's really NOT a terribly productive answer for the OP!

    The issue here sounds like it's due to the manner in which the Cisco Aironet access points at the school were configured. This could have been done by the school or, more likely, by a company contracted by the school to install and configure the AP's. To me it sounds like they may be using a Cisco NAC server (or something equivalent) to perform manual authentication onto the network. My guess is that his authentication issues are probably coming from NAC and not from his IT departments choice in standard web browser.

    If you are, in fact, trying to use the Cisco NAC agent then it requires Java in order to run. Without Java, you'll likely never even get to the point of trying to authenticate.
     
  7. bearsfan85

    bearsfan85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    459
    97
    53
    Microsoft Student Rep
    Urbana
    Have you actually tried IE9? It isnt that bad, its no chrome or firefox but its a usuable web browser, plus the beta is still in its infancy. But there are some really cool features that I wish FF and chrome had
     
  8. Patney

    Patney Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it. I guess I'll have to bring my computer if I want to use the internet at my school.

    Also, as long as I log in with IE first, I am free to browse the internet afterwards using whatever I want, such as Chrome. So that's not really a huge deal.
     
  9. bearsfan85

    bearsfan85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    459
    97
    53
    Microsoft Student Rep
    Urbana
    how do people on macs log in?
     
  10. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    by installing Java on their computers... If I'm not mistaken Java is the issue here moreso than Internet Exploder.
     
  11. bearsfan85

    bearsfan85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    459
    97
    53
    Microsoft Student Rep
    Urbana
    probably should have read the post above me in its entirety
     

Share This Page

Loading...