1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[REQUEST] Root/Recovery for ZTE Zmax Pro (Z981)

Discussion in 'Official Unloved Devices Hit Squad (OUDHS)' started by Masterchief87, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Device Name: Zmax Pro
    Device Model Number: Z981
    Device Version: Android 6.0.1
    Device Codename: urd
    Device Manufacturer: ZTE
    Carrier: MetroPCS

    adb shell mount: http://pastebin.com/9rMv7ydw
    adb shell cat /proc/cpuinfo: http://pastebin.com/XJuyigw8
    adb shell cat /system/build.prop: http://pastebin.com/7RVN7X51

    Let me know if there is any other info i can provide which may help.
    Thanks for looking and for considering my request. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

     

    Advertisement

    #1 Masterchief87, Jul 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2016
    alper990 likes this.
  2. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,136
    483
    is it rooted, do you have the stock recovery ?
     
  3. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I saw your post in my other thread. I'll let you know if/when it gets root and get you a copy of the stock recovery. Until then I guess it's just a wait and see type of situation.
     
    Eric Krauel likes this.
  4. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You should be able to push files to /data/local/tmp and set permissions among other things. What you can't do is use the "ls" command to list all the files in that directory. The only directories in the data partition where you can use "ls" to really explore what is there are /sdcard and /storage/emulated/0 which are just 2 different paths to the same location. You probably already knew that though. If you are trying to manually root the phone with adb don't get upset if it doesn't work. The days of being able to just push su and busybox to /data/local/tmp and get root with a few commands are a long way behind us.
     
    cyanidekid and Eric Krauel like this.
  5. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You got the kernel source already? I haven't seen it on zte's site yet and when I requested the source the response I got just told me to keep checking the website.
     
    Eric Krauel likes this.
  6. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Seems possible, although I'm no expert on this. I'm more or less just taking shots in the dark as far as trying to find a way to root this thing, hoping I hit something.

    Can you give a little more detail of exactly what you did? Were you actually able to run the script on the phone? What mode (DFU, FTM, Android) was the phone in? Anything else worth mentioning?
     
    Eric Krauel likes this.
  7. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Eric Krauel likes this.
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Yeah that's DFU mode which I've also seen called download mode. I've seen tutorials of using it to flash firmware but finding information that is not severely outdated is proving to be very difficult. I think that it could be used to flash an insecure kernel or custom recovery but trying to find a program that can do this is like mission impossible. Then there is always the possibility that I'm on a wild goose chase and I'm wasting my time.

    I've already played this game once before when I bricked one of the ZMAX's I used to own and I struck out last time too. I'm hoping my efforts aren't for nothing here lol.
     
    5318008 and Eric Krauel like this.
  9. Eric Krauel

    Eric Krauel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016

    Aug 18, 2016
    3
    1
    16
    Male
    Dallas ,Texas
    I am also lookind
     
    5318008 likes this.
  10. Eric Krauel

    Eric Krauel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016

    Aug 18, 2016
    3
    1
    16
    Male
    Dallas ,Texas
    I am also looking for a root solution for the ZMAX pro. I have not been successful in any root attempt for any of my devices. I don't have access to a PC so I am wondering if that is the problem with my older devices. I have a Kyocera Wave that I tried everything but had no PC access. If you guys know anything about rooting that one (Kyocera Hydro Wave C6740 lollipop) any suggestions and info would be appreciated. At least I could practice on that one before my ZMAX. The main reason I wanted to root the Kyocera was because the lack of storage issue. I am a gamer and would like to have space for them. Thanks.
     
  11. Eric Krauel

    Eric Krauel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016

    Aug 18, 2016
    3
    1
    16
    Male
    Dallas ,Texas
    Also another reason for wanting Root access is to get rid of all the fn bloatware. Or be able to move them to my sd card. I have done plenty of research on rooting but have never been successful.
     
  12. DroidHackAlot

    DroidHackAlot Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015

    Jun 9, 2015
    14
    3
    16
    Male
    I have rooted like 4 phones. And all of them needed a PC to be able to get it done, I'm sure if you had a computer to work with you would be able to get root access in no time.
     
    ExtraButterySyrup and 5318008 like this.
  13. Djoec3683

    Djoec3683 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015

    Mar 9, 2015
    134
    106
    78
    Male
    Rhode Island
    There is no root method available for this phone right now PC or not.
     
    DroidHackAlot and Masterchief87 like this.
  14. Kmhv

    Kmhv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 13, 2016

    May 13, 2016
    7
    5
    6
  15. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I'm not even going to bother trying that because it is a root method that is years old. If you look at the screenshots you'll see the blue signal icons from jelly bean.
     
  16. Kmhv

    Kmhv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 13, 2016

    May 13, 2016
    7
    5
    6
    Gotcha didnt see that.
     
  17. jaykoerner

    jaykoerner Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    153
    74
    53
    Anyone that can read Chinese? Wondering if a root exploit could be found searching baidu, since zte is from there/way more popular? I've done some looking but i can't make heads or tails via Google translate.
     
    cyanidekid likes this.
  18. cyanidekid

    cyanidekid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014

    Jun 25, 2014
    313
    180
    78
    Male
    None of your business.
    Harrisburg PA
    Updates? New news? I have Windows 7 and would consider helping or trying things. Don't want to brick or bootloop though smh errrrrr lol
     
  19. lildandan

    lildandan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016

    Dec 20, 2016
    1
    0
    15

    If anyone can send me some scripts or anything to test (I have my device and my computer is very powerful) i would be more than willing to do that as i can repair my phone if i break it and im trying to get the ball rolling on this!! :)
     
  20. Cesarj238

    Cesarj238 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 19, 2014

    May 19, 2014
    46
    4
    16
    Hey there im am litteraly just pulling my system from the phone something that i need to know to edit this ?
     
  21. tobyrichx25

    tobyrichx25 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017

    Nov 9, 2017
    2
    0
    5
    I would like to see this phone able to get rooted or make the ZMax 2 able so it will be a good phone to buy
     

Share This Page

Loading...