1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Reset to Brand-new

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dozer5900, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA
    Hey, can ask y'all a question? How can I reset my LG esteem to brand new. I've hard reset, factory reset everything, and even emergency restore, but I can't seem to be able to delete everything. I tryed to clear cache and data from a few system apps and no luck.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA
    The reason why I want to do this is because before I installed a rom with rom toolbox lite my phone was perfect nothing was wrong with it. After I changed the font, the boot logo, and many other things my phone started to reboot with no particular reason. So I did all the resets I could, but nothing works. I cleared the cache and data of rom toolbox and it minimized the problem but it still happens any ideas?
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    ShinySide likes this.
  4. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA
    Thanks, but I already tried that. Also when I restore it doesn't delete all internal folders. Is there a way to completely wipe out everything?
     
  5. Transfusiionz

    Transfusiionz George Carlin FTW!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    May 18, 2012

    May 18, 2012
    562
    180
    93
    Build and sell computers
    Michigan
    You could format with your computer (or is that a bad idea?)
    then you could restore it with lgnpst, then upgrade.
    That should wipe everything.
    And are you sure it's not the rom? Try installing BrokenOut 1.1, everything works perfectly on it.
     
  6. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    The only way to do that is you need to downgrade then you have to update back to zvd that's the only way u could get your phone back to bone stock ;)
     
  7. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    313
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    What are you trying to do? What is your goal? So I can better understand how to answer.
     
  8. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    holy crap, literally took the words right out my mouth lol we need details bro!!!
     
  9. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA

    Something like this ^^
    When I downgrade and then upgrade I still have folders. So how do I format my phone?
     
  10. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    313
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Folders? Well You do have an internal SD. If that's not formatted then everything that WAS on there is STILL going to be there. Format internal SD if you want to delete everything. Do at your own risk though. Just sayin
     
  11. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    +1 if you want 100% bone stock
     
  12. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA
    Only thing I'm going to save is Homeless Kernel and #2 1.9.1 which is what I'm currently using. By the way since most of y'all are already here I would like to say. I truly admire your work on ROMs, Themes, Kernels, and help, thanks. So what do I do to format it? Is it the one from the settings?
     
  13. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    313
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Format it in CWM.

    I would personally just hand delete the files that way the android files stay put.
     
  14. dozer5900

    dozer5900 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    96
    6
    16
    Student At CSU EastBay
    California, USA
    Awesome it worked. Thanks bro
     
  15. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    313
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A

    You are welcome. ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...