1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support smart phone that cant make.... CALLS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blair287, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. blair287

    blair287 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    This is my 4th SGS2 it had been working fine to 3 weeks then today this mouring i wake up no signal i thought fine maybe network down i check my mobile broadband (same network) that works try sim in another phone that works. but the SGS2 says emergancy calls only all the time tried reset re flash nothing, this is a very buggy phone and when i get that chance i will be exchanging it for a sensation but anyone got any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,837
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,837
    3,565
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I've only ever had that problem in one place. I've always had reception except the exact moment I step into one of my friends back garden and then nothing. Since I updated to the KH3 modem I now get reception but interent still doesnt work so atleast its a step in the right direction. I would suggest updating the modem if you havnt done so allready.
     
  3. blair287

    blair287 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    please help
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,441
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,441
    5,653
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    You are on your 4th SGSII...!

    You are either the unluckiest SGSII owner alive or there is another, possibly external, problem.

    Just a few questions:-

    1) Is your phone rooted?

    2) What firmware are you running? (type *#1234# into the dial pad to get 4 lines of info)

    3) Are you using Juice Defender or a task killer on phone?

    4) Have you checked your APN settings are correct and the right one selected? (Settings > Wireless and network > Mobile networks > Access point names)

    5) Do you pick up your service provider on a manual search? (Settings > Wireless and network > Mobile networks > Network operators)
     
  5. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    I have to agree. 4 different phones, all defective, it over the top.

    Tell all about your phone.
     
  6. blair287

    blair287 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    well the first 2 wernt really faulty the wifi hotspot didnt work but samsung admitted it was a bug the 3rd one over heated all the time and this is my fourth, i have tried everything you suggested it is rooted and its on stock firmware 2.3.3, now im not getting a signal on any phone on this network, but my mobile broadband works and is same network.
     
  7. blair287

    blair287 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    i can get a signal at the top of my road but not the bottom and i can even see the mast plus i always had a fine signal before.
     
  8. lobo76

    lobo76 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    78
    8
    16
    My impression is... well, read post#2. "Updating" the modem might be something of a misnomer. What he is saying is flash your modem. i.e it WILL void your warranty... but every other person in these forums seem to be doing it anyway.
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,441
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,441
    5,653
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Well, that's one out of five questions answered... how about the other four?

    These sort of things help us to help you. :D
     
  10. blair287

    blair287 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    yea i tried all of them, rang the network again and now they are pleading guilty to a mast down, so false alarm on a faulty phone ( i hope) thanks for your help guys!! :)
     
  11. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,441
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,441
    5,653
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Strange that you should be able to get a signal on the same network on broadband and also a signal on another phone with your sim card in it when the mast is down! :thinking:
     

Share This Page

Loading...