1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root titanium back up "not rooted"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shantytownbrown, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    305
    37
    63
    Medicine
    Connecticut
    silly noob question,

    i rooted (finally) the other day, (revolutionary/amon ra recovery), or so i thought...

    I havent yet done anything (flash-wise) with it yet, but decided to d/l titanium back up...

    It says I am not rooted, is that simply because i still have stock rom running?

    I am assuming so, but thought i out to make sure...(i assume rooted roms have this thing called "busyBox" that TB is asking for, that stock ROM wont, right?)

    thanks in advance.

    shanty
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    Did you install super user file? As far as busybody you could try to dload from market. However I'm assuming it's a permission issue
     
  3. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    I once had something like this happen (if I understand what you're saying), and it ended up being a rom issue with that particular version... I was rooted (s-off) but I couldn't get root in the rom.

    Do the other root apps work?
     
  4. jg62

    jg62 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    137
    122
    68
    Clinton Twp, Mi.
    I have a similar problem with Titanium backup Pro. I also rooted yesterday (revolutionary/amon ra recovery) and am in the same situation, I have s-off, have superuser updated, but have not flashed a rom yet. Was going thru the instructions by Argedion and downloaded T/T bu pro. My problem is that it will not open, I get this message, "sorry cannot start this application".

    I also have My Backup Pro installed and working. Could this be causing a conflict ?? Thanks.
     
  5. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    You need to have flashed the SuperUser zip file on the revolutionary website if you're still on the stock rom. And yes, you will also need to have busybox installed. Custom roms already have that stuff preinstalled, but with the stock rom you have to do it yourself.
     
  6. jg62

    jg62 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    137
    122
    68
    Clinton Twp, Mi.
    Okay makes sense, that being said would it be easier to flash a custom rom where busybox is already included, instead of the extra steps ???
     
  7. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Yes it would. :)

    well, simple either way, really, just one less step if you just flash the rom.
     
  8. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    305
    37
    63
    Medicine
    Connecticut
    i thought i may have messed up something when i rooted, i guess i never truly did load the superuser file...so i flashed it again, and now TB works just fine!

    thanks all...

    now, to stop obsessing about which ROM to flash...

    whats this i read about the "bootloop of doom" some had mentioned...??
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  9. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    MikG 3.0 should probably be your first rom. Fast, stable, functional, pretty, customizable...the works. You won't be disappointed.

    Here's the deal with the bootloop of death.

    Nobody knows for sure what EXACTLY causes it. It seems to mainly occur only when users have been running aosp roms. With that said, there are TONS of aosp rom users who never have this issue (myself included). What happens is your phone will bootloop, and will even bootloop when trying to get into recovery, essentially rendering your phone useless. I wouldn't let this scare you away from AOSP roms, but the chance of anything happening is pretty minimal.

    Even if you scan this forum and think "wow there are like 4 or 5 people who have had this happen, that's a lot" you have to remember that there are boatloads of people out there using these roms and not having any issues, so they never end up posting here. I'm no expert but it must be caused by some kind of corrupted recovery or something, but again, nobody has ever been able to isolate what causes it.
     
    9to5cynic likes this.
  10. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    ^ I have to agree with pretty much all of that Mizzou. I think I spend the better part of 5-6months on CM7. No issues at all. Before that, I spent a lot of time (several months (4+)) on MIUI. Still no issues (well, besides one not related to the rom).

    The only thing I think is a bit weird, is that so far all of the people who have gotten the Bootloop of Death, have been on AOSP (CM base if I'm not mistaken). Now, it is important that just because events are correlated (which these seem to be) that doesn't mean one causes the other. Correlation != causality. (less one is stats last year ;))
    --
     
  11. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    305
    37
    63
    Medicine
    Connecticut

    hey thanks for unscaring me about the bootloop thing,

    so you say mikg3.0 should be my first?
    I have been looking at some youtube vids of various roms, and i have to say, i like the MIUI look the best so far....i was hoping to get away from Sense, just from a boredom standpoint, but i guess i can always switch around (that IS easy, right??)

    I may open a new thread, sinse i have kinda hijacked my own i dont mind so much but...

    1. if i go with MIUI-
    a. which version
    b. what kernels should i bring along
    c. any other tweaks i should do before/after flashing?

    2. if i go with MiKg
    same questions


    I really am shooting for better battery life, the ability to do something i am not allowed to talk about here anymore, and to unbloat my phone...

    so which is better? i think i am down to the these two, and would like to do this over the weekend.

    thanks all!
     
  12. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    Don't know if you get 4G but MIUI does not have 4G support nor will it. As far as the "other" either should suffice
     
  13. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    305
    37
    63
    Medicine
    Connecticut
    i dont have 4 g in my home area, but do in my work area, its not that important to me...

    unless..the fact that 4G eats my battery goes away with the underclocking..then i may consider it, but 4 g is overall not even that strong where i am in southern connecticut..only comes to play if i visit NYC...(which is not that often)...

    i just liked the look of MIUI that i saw, so do more to talk me out of it, any MIUI votes with reasons out there....

    thanks
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I've always liked miui but haven't tried it since my "problem" with the rom. And I've heard that ics may be around the corner so........:)
     
  15. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Would not dream of talking anyone out of using an AOSP ROM. I Just know some people are not willing to sacrifice thier 4G. I don't have it in my area So no biggie for me
     
  16. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    If you want to use MIUI, I'm not really sure what version you should flash. I only tried it once...just get the most recent version on XDA I guess. For a kernel, I use Tiamat 3.3.7 with all my AOSP roms and have great performance with it. It's widely regarded as the most stable AOSP kernel as well as the best one for battery life. With kernels, you never know for sure because they seem to perform differently from phone to phone, but this is definitely where you should be starting IMHO.
     
    argedion likes this.
  17. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    305
    37
    63
    Medicine
    Connecticut
    in your opinion then is AOSP or Sense ROM the better choice or is it personal preference..is there really a noticlble battery improvement AOSP over Sense?

    most have seemed to favor MikG over MIUI, i still dont get a feeling as to "why not" MIUI from the MikG "voters"...

    On a side note a friend just got an EVO3d and was jealous over her lock screen and home screen interfaces, is the the kind of stuff (or better??) i will now be able to get for my EVO???
     
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    MikG contains sense 2.1+3.0. The evo 3d is sense 3.0 so you will have many of the features of the 3Vo phones but not all of them. Mik3D will give you all the features of the 3VO (minus the 3D screen of coruse).
     
  19. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Really it boils down to personal preference for me. Others will Say AOSP is better and still others Sense. Both have their strong points and both have their bad points. I do however believe that AOSP gets better battery performance. Or that at least has been the case for Me.

    I used MIUI way back after I first rooted. It was like the third or fourth ROM I had tried. It was a very decent ROM. However at that time I was really checking out all of them to see what I liked and what I didn't like. So far my favorite Rom is Xplod by team nocturnal. It is a very stable ROM for me. Some claimed to have issues but I have not had any. I also am using Tiamat 3.3.7 I get the best battery life with this combo

    Experiment and play around try out several and see what you like
     
    shantytownbrown likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...