• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Update Samsung i8160

pengyou

Feb 17, 2011
North Dakota
It seems that there is an update for my Samsung Galaxy II (i8160) I have never done this before but I know that there are many webpages that can help me. My questions are about the contents of this update. Updating a phone is similar to erasing a hard drive on a computer and installing a new OS. My question: will the update for my Samsung contain all of the Samsung apps (that I have yet to use)? I wish that I could just install the root of the OS and the necessary drivers, and then install only the apps that I want.

Am I dreaming?

There's no way of telling what an update will contain without installing it (unless you are rooted, in which case you could download it then copy it elsewhere and see what it contains, but then official updates on rooted phones are generally a bad idea). Otherwise your best bet is if you can find other people with the same model, same software version, same carrier who have installed the update and ask what changed.

Updates can be anything from just adding a couple of carrier bloatware apps to a complete new OS version. Commonly they are patches, which change just part of the system, rather than complete replacements. Its likely that all of the pre-installed Samsung apps will remain afterwards, but it's possible that they may change (including additions or removals).