1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Use a different Carrier?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Realm, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. Realm

    Realm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    Is it possible to use a different carrier other than Verizon for the HTC Eris?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bill1171

    bill1171 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Eris,
    no.
     
  3. CaptainTwinkie

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    50
    17
    18
    Orem, UT
    You can use it on Cricket
     
  4. Realm

    Realm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    Ehh too bad cricket isn't in my area
     
  5. wesleypipesyo

    wesleypipesyo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Technical Director
    Maryland
    You could use it on a CDMA network. Possibly Sprint.
     
  6. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Page plus. Metro maybe? Sprint won't activate unless it branded as such.
     
  7. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    MetroPCS has a reflashing service to convert it to MetroPCS. But it only does the voice/sms, there's an article on XDA forums on how to enable data on Metro so you get full access.
     
  8. khabibul35

    khabibul35 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Well, there's also PagePlus. Granted it operates on the Verizon network. But depending on your reasons for wanting to switch, it might be worth a look.
     
  9. mooneyb

    mooneyb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    I use my eris on Page Plus. Page Plus is a prepaid service.
     
  10. Denny4530

    Denny4530 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    North West TN
    What about using it on Straight Talk wireless. They sell the cards at Wal-Mart and it says it uses Verizon's Network. So I would think that it would work. I tried calling Straight Talk but I get a recording telling me to call back later.

    Thanks
     
  11. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Straight talk wouldnt work. CDMA phones dont use sim cards. Straight talk uses a ton of different networks, but basically depending on which phone you buy from them determines which phone you use. Like the ones that have sims in them use t-mobile or AT&T's network, and the ones that dont are CDMA phones that use Verizon and Sprints network. And they unfortunately wont activate any phone on their service that isnt bought specifically with Straight Talk branding, and the Sim cards are also locked to Straight talk phones.
     
    Denny4530 likes this.
  12. Houstatlanavegas

    Houstatlanavegas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    can't you unlock it and then enter a similar card
     
  13. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Are you talking about the eris? The eris has no sim card, or anything of the sort. It uses a number called an ESN that is built into the phone. To activate it you just go to verizons website and enter in said ESN number, and then its working just as if you put a sim into it. However, Verizon will only activate phones branded verizon wireless that are in their registry. If the phone is reported stolen, it gets deleted from the registry (Hence the term bad esn). Sprint does the same thing. So you couldnt activate a Verizon branded phone on sprint. But there are a few carriers that will activate any phone, such as cricket and metro PCS but you have to do a little bit of work flashing it or theyll do it for you for around $20.
     
  14. v941726

    v941726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    357
    4
    56
    Rochester, NY
    isnt there a thread here about people flashing to cricket?
     

Share This Page

Loading...