1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Who wants a flashable ZIP to install stock ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by moonknightus, Oct 25, 2013.

?

Make flashable stock ROM?

  1. Yes

    22 vote(s)
    95.7%
  2. No

    1 vote(s)
    4.3%
  1. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Worked for me http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23212708291681712
    And with conquest make sure you're not flashing separate gapps. Gapps are all included in conquest. And make sure you do a full wipe before flash. Did you have backups on external sd? If they were on internal the full wipe before flash would erase them.
     

    Advertisement

    whbisondtr likes this.
  2. whbisondtr

    whbisondtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    180
    49
    43
    Male
    Maintenance, apt manager, single dad
    Misery, oh um Missouri
    Thanks, that worked. No, I just flashed the Rom, the update, and the holo theme. I wiped system, data, cache , and dalvik. Um.. wherever twrp put them. So possibly erased. I made a backup of this one tho, and ill be sure it goes onto the extsdcard. I really appreciate the help Madbat..

    RedBear's Evo 3D
     
  3. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    No prob. Hope you get conquest working, it runs good. 11.2 full and 11.3 update. Try it without a theme. Did the adaway I linked work? It was a backup I made it f the one I'm using.
     
  4. whbisondtr

    whbisondtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    180
    49
    43
    Male
    Maintenance, apt manager, single dad
    Misery, oh um Missouri
    I think link2sd is the problem. Phone was fine b4 install, google apps fc like crazy after, unistalled and everything is fine. Is there another good alternative to it that's confirmed working?
    Yes the link and app worked great, thanks

    RedBear's Evo 3D
     
  5. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Remember before you wipe and flash you have to unlink all apps linked in link2sd, then relink after. Link2sd is really the only app of that kind. And it works well. You need a good sdcard (class 10) don't link any system apps, evev updates of system apps.
     
    whbisondtr likes this.
  6. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    A bit new with the Victory. Got it for my mom so I have limited time with it. Is this in lieu of a stock tar? Is there a stock tar out there? I always find comfort in Odin'ing a stock rom to start fresh. It's the truest clean slate there is, and sometimes download mode has been my only option to correct mistakes.
     
  7. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    No one ever made one. This is more for returning to stock than repairing mess ups. That's what backups are for. Always backup! Always!
     
  8. M_CEO

    M_CEO Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014

    Jun 18, 2014
    15
    0
    15
    I just tried this, selected stock recovery but ODIN is still there. And every time I try to boot into recovery it takes me to the green android saying something like "downloading, do not disconnect".

    But according to super SU I am no longer rooted. What can I do to get stock recovery back?

    Thank you!
     
  9. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Odin? That's Odin mode (download mode) for connecting to Odin.
    What do you mean Odin is still there? You mean twrp? That zip does install the stock recovery. You are booting into download mode. For recovery its power+volume UP not volume down.
     
  10. theadamguy

    theadamguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    115
    9
    56
    Male
    Carryout
    Michigan
    Okay:
    So today my sdcard got corrupted after using victorious rom for a decent while. It may have happened due to dropping my phone a couple of times and having the sdcard come loose. This resulted in my sdcard becoming randomly corrupted. I attempted to retrieve everything important and reformatted my sdcard. I then restored to a stock nandroid I had from right before I installed victorious. I'd like to return to stock completely and maintain root, without downloading an entire stock rom. One of my issues is that I still have the vaevictus kernel. Could anyone procure a link for the stock kernel, or a better kernel if such a thing exists? Also I'm on mg5, so how should I go about returning to nd4, which is the latest update I believe? I'm sorry that this post is longwinded and rambling, but my primary intention was to retrieve the stock kernel in hopes up updating? Thank you!
     
  11. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    You want to return to full stock, maintain root, and not have to download a full stock ROM? And I suppose you also don't want to wipe data?:cool: It doesn't exactly work that way. Lol
    But seriously What you can do is Odin flash the stock mg5 .tar. Then Odin flash twrp, then use twrp to flash the no props nd4 update. Easy peasy. But you need to download those files.
    Update: here is the stock mg5 tar.
     
    #36 Madbat, Apr 5, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...